Day 1 : New York Steak w/ Cheese Sauce

Hello again and Happy New Year!  I am super excited to finally get this started.  I meant to get to it weeks ago, but as usual, life happened.  The holidays, though great, were very busy for me.  Throw in a couple of sick kids and you’ve got yourself a good excuse.  But let’s face it…. the biggest reason that today is day 1 is because I am a major procrastinator lol.  I was all set to start yesterday but after a very LONG trip to the grocery store (a very annoying and slow check-out worker) it was too late when we finally got home and put the food away to want to cook anything so we went out instead.

Anyway, here we are, and I plan to do my very best to stay on track.  Today’s recipe is not a new one in our house, but rather a favorite.  I discovered this recipe on my favorite recipe site (food.com) quite a while ago and have made it a number of times now.  It’s the perfect steak for someone like me who isn’t a big fan of JUST meat.  Don’t get me wrong, I do like meat, I just can’t see how people can eat a big hunk of it plain lol.  It’s also a great steak to prepare for a special occasion.  Super simple to make, but gourmet in flavor and appearance.  We paired it tonight with some steak fries and a side salad for the perfect meal.

The original recipe calls for boursin cheese, which I have not tried.  I use chive and onion cream cheese for mine because it’s easier to find.  As well, I can’t always find a nice steak at Walmart (where we most often do our grocery shopping) so I use whatever I CAN find for this.  I am sure it is better with the original ingredients, but it has not suffered with my substitutions IMO.  I use a Cabernet Merlot blend for my red wine in this as well.  Since I don’t like my steak to have ANY pink in the middle I also cooked my steaks on the foreman grill for a bit too to make sure they were well done without burning on the outside in my skillet.

 

New York Steak w/ Cheese Sauce

Servings : 4                                        Time to make : 30 min

Ingredients:

  • 4 New York strip steaks, 1/2 lb each
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup green onion, minced
  • 1/4 cup red wine
  • 3/4 cup  half and half cream
  • 3/4 cup boursin cheese or 3/4 cup cream cheese with garlic and herbs
  • 2 tablespoons parsley, minced

Directions:

  1. Sear steaks in hot oil, until cooked to your preference.
  2. Remove steaks, cover and keep warm.
  3. In same pan saute onions for 2 minutes, add wine and cook over high heat until reduced to 1 tbsp.
  4. Add half and half cream.
  5. Boil until reduced by half.
  6. Stir in Boursin cheese or garlic cream cheese until thick and hot.
  7. Pour sauce over hot steaks, garnish with parsley.

 

That’s it for day 1…. stay tuned for another great recipe tomorrow!

Published in: on January 2, 2011 at 11:00 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/02/day-1-new-york-steak-w-cheese-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. NICE…..
    When do we eat.
    Oh, AND What’s for dessert?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

