Pomegranate Margarita

This has got to be one of my new favorite drinks!  I have been on a real pomegranate kick lately, so this was right up my alley.  The recipe I found did call for Grand Marnier, but I only had Cointreau and a little less than it called for.  It also called for plain Tequila, but I had lime on hand.  For a bit of garnish/color I added some lime zest and peel as well.  And the last change I made was to use a pomegranate sugar I found for the rims rather than salt.  Since I did make so many little changes I am just going to list the drink as I made it, but I will still put the original recipe link at the bottom.

The color is gorgeous, the taste is smooth and tart/sweet, and it doesn’t have a really strong alcohol flavor which is perfect for me.  This is the sort of drink I could probably drink all night and not even realize I was drinking alcohol until it was too late.  My only regret is that I am now out of Cointreau and can’t make it again every night this week.

 

PomegranateMargarita

Serves : 2        Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 3 oz. Cointreau
  • 3 oz. Lime Tequila
  • 4 oz. Pomegranate juice (like POM)
  • 4 oz. fresh lime juice
  • 3 oz. simple syrup
  • sugar or salt for rim (If you can find it, pomegranate rim sugar)
  • limes and pomegranate arils for garnish
  • ice

Directions :

  1. First make your simple syrup.  Just add equal parts sugar and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil and allow sugar to dissolve.  Remove from heat, and allow to cool completely.
  2. In a cocktail shaker (or you can just stir them together) filled about halfway with ice, combine Cointreau, Tequila, Pomegranate juice, lime juice, and simple syrup.  Put on lid and shake vigorously for a minute to two.
  3. Take a wedge of lime and run it around the rim of your glass before dipping in your sugar or salt.  Then strain the contents of your shaker into glasses filled with more ice.
  4. Grate a bit of zest into the glasses or add wedges/slices of lime and/or fresh arils.

Recipe from how sweet it is

pomegranatemargarita

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/pomegranate-margarita/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

