Buffalo Chicken Salad with Greek Yogurt

You may or may not realize by now that I love buffalo chicken!  I have shared many recipes already featuring it, and will likely continue to search for others to share.  I haven’t tried many chicken salads in my day, but I think this is my favorite one!  A lot of chicken salad recipes will call for you to boil the chicken, which is fine, but for some reason the idea just doesn’t sit well with me or my husband.  When I come across a recipe that suggests boiling raw chicken I usually just pre-cook my chicken, or in this case (and it’s actually what the recipe called for) I love to use rotisserie chicken.  It’s always good, very versatile, and cuts back on the hassle of making my own.  It’s also the only way Jeff gets to enjoy a little dark meat since I generally only buy chicken breast meat.

Anyway, this chicken salad is the perfect mix of buffalo flavor, crunch from the celery, and creaminess from the yogurt, and freshness from the herbs.  I wasn’t sure about using greek yogurt at first, but it has that little bit of a tang that really goes well with this, and it’s much healthier than using something like ranch dressing.  I also have a bit of an aversion to blue cheese so I substituted out feta instead which worked well.  I did end up using about 3 stalks of celery because I wasn’t sure if my chicken produced quite 4 cups of meat and I didn’t want it to be too saucy, but I think with an ingredient like that it’s really fine to just use however much you want.  I actually don’t like celery on it’s own, but even I can’t deny it goes so well with buffalo sauce.  I served this on some asiago cheese rolls and it was simply fantastic, and it makes a good amount so I had it for lunch for days afterwards too.

 

Buffalo Chicken Salad with Greek Yogurt

Serves : I think I got about 7-8 sandwiches out of it

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 cup non-fat plain greek yogurt (I used chiobani)
  • 1/2 cup Franks Red Hot Wings Buffalo sauce
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh ground black pepper
  • 4 cups of cubed, cooked chicken (about 1 rotisserie chicken)
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, minced
  • 1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese
  • rolls or wraps for serving

Directions :

  1. Combine the first 5 ingredients in a large bowl and give them a whisk.  Then fold in the chicken, celery, cilantro, and blue cheese.  Serve on rolls, in wraps, or however you like.

Recipe from The Novice Chef

_MG_6011-1

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/04/23/buffalo-chicken-salad-with-greek-yogurt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

