Honey Walnut Shrimp


You may recall that recently I made Sweet Fire Chicken in an attempt to recreate one of my favorite Chinese Take-out dishes at home.  I thought it only fair to try and do the same for one of my husband’s usual choices.  I haven’t ordered this myself, but he says this is a fair comparison to the dish he orders from Panda Express.  He says the walnuts are a bit sweeter, but when asked if he would rather have this version or the other he voted for this dish.

Personally, I also really enjoyed this dish.  The shrimp fried up beautifully and was perfect coated in the honey sauce.  I really like the crunch factor from the walnuts and of course they carry on that sweetness factor as well.  This goes very well over some plain and simple rice.  Hopefully you have a little better luck with your rice preparation though…. I have been testing out a new rice cooker and can’t seem to stop getting mushy rice.  After overcooking my first batch of  sugar water (I will get into that in a moment) I fell a bit behind in getting everything else ready and the rice had to sit in the cooker for a bit longer than I would have liked.

Now about the walnuts… I am sure most of you already know how to do this technique and would laugh at my mishap tonight, but for those of you who haven’t made anything like it before I thought I would share what I learned.  The recipe said to boil the sugar water, while continuously stirring it, until it turned golden and thickened.  I kept waiting to see a golden color, even past the point where it thickened up, and in doing so I ended up with a mess of hard sugar again.  I imagine I boiled all the water out… oops!  The second time I pulled it as soon as it thickened up regardless of color and that worked well enough.

As far as being low FODMAP or not… I think this one fits the plan.  The only questionable ingredients I can think of are the honey (which there is such a small amount I doubt it would effect most people unless it was a trigger) and perhaps the cornstarch (but honestly I am just not sure about that one, and again I imagine it effects some more than others).  Other than being quite full from eating more than I should as usual I didn’t have any issues with this meal in the stomach department.

Honey Walnut Shrimp

Serves : 3-4

Ingredients :

  • 1 C. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 1/2 C. walnut halves
  • 3 T. mayo
  • 1 1/2 tsp. honey (I used more like 2 tsp.)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 lb. medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • kosher salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 lg egg, beaten
  • 1/2 C. cornstarch

Directions :

  1. Heat vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium high heat.
  2. Heat 1/2 cup water in a small saucepan over medium heat and bring to a boil. Add sugar and stir, constantly, until golden and thickened. Add walnuts and gently toss to combine. Transfer to a parchment paper-lined plate.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together mayonnaise, honey and condensed milk; set aside.
  4. Season shrimp with salt and pepper, to taste.
  5. Working one at a time, dip the shrimp into the egg, then dredge in the cornstarch, pressing to coat.
  6. Working in batches, add the shrimp to the skillet, 8-10 at a time, and fry until evenly golden brown and crispy, about 1-2 minutes on each side. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate.
  7. In a large bowl, combine shrimp and honey mixture.
  8. Serve immediately, topped with walnuts.

Recipe From Damn Delicious

_MG_7584-1
_MG_7590-1

 

Published in: on August 11, 2013 at 9:20 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

Dijon Chicken Linguine with Crimini Mushrooms & Toasted Almonds


This was one of those recipes that had me drooling over my screen when I came across it while browsing for much healthier recipes.  I couldn’t help myself, and even though I knew it wasn’t low FODMAP (in fact with all that cream, garlic, pasta, and mushrooms it is anything BUT), I just didn’t care because it looked so dang good!  I decided to do my best and cut back where I could, but I figured this would be one of those “cheat” nights…. which really just means my stomach will give me hell which it did, but some days you just don’t care.  I cut out the garlic…. sad I know… and cut the cream in half and replaced the other with my fat free/lactose free milk.  It really didn’t seem to diminish the flavor whatsoever so that’s a plus, and I imagine it did a good job of cutting the calories and fat as well.  I REALLY enjoyed this meal, even though I was questioning my sanity shortly after when it starting causing me stomach troubles lol.

Fresh pasta is just so much better than it’s dried cousin.  So soft and delicious!  Top that off with some nice earthy mushrooms, perfectly toasted almonds, simply seasoned chicken and a luxuriously creamy dijon sauce and you have heaven on a plate in my opinion.  Perhaps it wasn’t even just the ingredients in this recipe that caused me so much trouble, but rather the insane amount that I consumed lol.

Other than the changes I already mentioned above, I only made a minor adjustment to the mushrooms.  Rather than only allowing them to simmer in the almost finished dish for a couple of minutes I knew I wanted them a bit more sauteed/soft, so after toasting my almonds I did just that and sauteed them in a bit of butter just for a couple minutes.  The picture that drew me in so easily also had some chives sprinkled on the final dish, and I even bought some for this purpose, but ended up forgetting them since they weren’t listed in the actual recipe.  Oh well… next time.  I did however whip up some crostini to go with this and it was PERFECT together.

Regarding the wine…. not being a connoisseur myself, I am always slightly annoyed when a recipe gives such general instruction such as “white wine” or “red wine”.  This was one of those recipes.  I didn’t really want a fruity wine, which I tend to gravitate towards for drinking when it comes to white wine so I was not sure what to get.  I settled on one that claimed to be crisp and balanced in flavor, as well as low calorie (always a plus lol).  The one I picked was called Skinny Girl California White, and I think it was a great choice for this dish!

Dijon Chicken Linguine with Crimini Mushrooms & Toasted Almonds

Serves : 4

Ingredients :

  • 350 g pkg. fresh linguine (Mine was something like 250g, just whatever I found at the store)
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I used 3 large breasts weighing about 1.5 lbs total)
  • 1 C. sliced crimini mushrooms
  • 3 T. olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced (I left this out)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 C. toasted slivered almonds
  • 4 oz. white wine (see note above)
  • 2 C. whipping cream (or like me half cream and half fat free milk)
  • 3 T. dijon (I suggest a nice coarse variety)
  • salt and pepper to season

Directions :

  1. If, like me, you would prefer softer mushrooms saute them for a minute or two before you get started after toasting your almonds, and set aside.
  2. Heat olive oil in a large heavy bottomed frying pan over medium low heat. Add chicken breasts, garlic, season with salt and pepper and continue to fry the chicken until completely cooked.  Remove chicken from pan and hold in a warm oven.
  3. Add white wine to pan, and deglaze.  Simmer until volume is reduced by half.
  4. Add cream, dijon, and salt and pepper.  Simmer until sauce thickens enough to coat a metal spoon.
  5. Return Chicken to the sauce, add the mushrooms and simmer for an additional 2 minutes.
  6. Serve over cooked linguine. Sprinkle with toasted slivered almonds.

Recipe from Rock Recipes

_MG_7566-1

Published in: on August 11, 2013 at 8:15 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers