Day 2 : Angel Chicken

I LOVE the smell of mushrooms cooking, and lucky for me I got to smell them all day long today.  My recipe of choice for the day was a new one to me, and has definitely made my list of recipes to make again.  There is nothing better on a cold Monday than deliciously simple comfort food.  I honestly don’t know why I don’t use my crockpot more often!

The only variation I made from the recipe ingredients was to use rotini pasta in place of the rice since we are more of a pasta people in our house.  For the mushrooms I went with 1 pkg of the white button mushrooms, and one pkg of crimini mushrooms.  I decided to opt for a longer cooking time and ended up letting mine go for about 7 hours on low heat.  When it was done I felt the sauce was a bit thin so I removed the chicken and poured the sauce and mushrooms into a saucepan to heat on the stove and added some cornstarch to it just to thicken it a bit.  Then I cut up the chicken (which sliced like butter, it was so tender) and threw that, the sauce and the pasta all back in the pot together.  I topped mine off with a bit of minced parsley for garnish, but it ended up being the perfect extra “something” for this recipe to really make it great.

The recipe was found on Food.com, and both my husband and I rated this one a 5 Star dish!

 

Angel Chicken

Servings : 4             Time to make : 7.5 hours

Ingredients:

  • 2 (8 ounce) packages fresh mushrooms, quartered
  • 4 skinless boneless chicken breast halves (about 1-1 1/2 lbs)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 (2/3 ounce) package italian dry salad dressing mix
  • 1 (10 3/4 ounce) can condensed golden mushroom soup
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 (8 ounce) container cream cheese spread with chives and onions
  • hot cooked rice

 

Directions:

  1. Put mushrooms in a 4 quart slow cooker; top with chicken breast. Melt the butter in a medium saucepan; stir in the italian dressing mix, golden mushroom soup, chicken broth and cream cheese until melted.
  2. Pour this over the mushrooms and chicken.
  3. Cover and cook on high heat for 4 1/2 hours, or on low heat for 8 hours.
  4. Serve chicken and sauce over cooked rice.
  5. Enjoy!

 

 

It was so good I am not ashamed to admit I had TWO helpings tonight!  I better watch out or this project is going to add a few lbs back that I worked so hard to remove last year lol.

Published in: on January 3, 2011 at 10:05 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/day-2-angel-chicken/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This sounds… and looks, in fact… like heaven. Just because of the mushrooms. Looks like pure comfort food (which is what crockpots exist for, right? I get mine out about twice a year and then wonder why I don’t do it more often)… I will be trying it! Thanks for posting… bookmarking right now. 🙂

  2. I’m impressed. Darla and I may have to try that one.


Leave a Reply

