Day 4 : Orange, Coconut, Banana Smoothie

I had a different recipe in mind for today, but after it snowed all day our driveway was in need of a bit of snow blowing.  That of course went to my husband to take care of, but since it is nearly impossible to cook with a 10 month old hanging on you I decided to put it off for another day and make something a bit simpler for today instead.  The inspiration for this one came from Food.com, but I ended up changing it enough to suit me that I didn’t think it was necessary to post the original recipe.

I really liked this smoothie and I have to admit that I am hard to please when it comes to drink recipes.  I tend to tire of them long before I can drink mine, and textures are a big issue with me.  This one is so perfectly creamy and has a great blend of flavors.  I think using bananas in smoothies is tricky…. you have to use JUST the right amount or it’s overpowering.  For me at least this was very refreshing in a more subtle way.  I could definitely see myself doing this one again for a light breakfast on occasion.

I wasn’t feeling super creative as it was already late in the evening when I made these, so my picture could use some work lol, but I promise it tastes MUCH better than it looks!

 

Orange, Coconut, Banana Smoothie

Serves : 2                                                 Time to make : 5 minutes

 

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 ripe banana
  • 1/2 C. vanilla frozen yogurt
  • 1/2 C. half and half cream
  • 3/4 C. orange juice
  • 1/2 C. coconut milk

 

Directions :

1. Place in blender and process on high until smooth.
2. Enjoy!

 

 

Be sure to check back tomorrow!

 

Published in: on January 5, 2011 at 9:54 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/day-4-orange-coconut-banana-smoothie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

