Day 5 : Tuna Sandwiches MY way

I don’t remember liking tuna sandwiches much as a child.  But then again, when I was a kid a tuna sandwich consisted of tuna, mayo, and bread.  Since then I have experimented with numerous recipes for a tuna sandwich, and most often I come back to this one.  It’s my own mix of ingredients and honestly I don’t do a lot of measuring for something like this, though I have done my best to guesstimate them for you here.

I could eat tuna at least every week.  The only thing holding me back is those studies that warn about the levels of mercury in tuna.  Apparently albacore tuna is the worst, so I convince myself that the chunk light can’t possibly be as bad lol.  I even go so far as to tell myself that they say fish is brain food in order to justify eating it so often.  Now if only I could get my 4 year old to try it……. even the idea of “brain food” isn’t enough to convince THAT one!

All of these ingredients are things I have on hand at any given time.  If I have others like some fresh parsley, or fresh lemon I’d add them to the mix.  I named these Tuna Sandwiches MY way, because it’s the same filling I would normally place between two pieces of toast.  That’s another thing I never used to do as a kid… toast the bread for my sandwiches.  Anyway, I recently discovered a new love for putting the filling on crackers and won’t be going back any time soon!

 

Tuna Sandwiches MY way

Serves : 3-4                            Time to make : 5 minutes

 

Ingredients :

  • 1 small can of tuna (any kind you prefer)
  • 4-5 T. light mayo (depends on how creamy you like yours)
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 2 T. dill relish
  • 1 tsp. capers, minced
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp. lemon pepper (again it’s about your preference)
  • ritz crackers (I prefer the vegetable ones when I can find them)

 

Directions :

1. Drain tuna well.  If you use one packed in oil you may even want to rinse it a bit first.
2. Mix all ingredients, except crackers,  together in a small bowl.
3. If time permits, chill to let flavors blend.  This step is not necessary though.
4. Spread onto the crackers and enjoy!

 

 

Thanks for checking in, and I hope you’ll stick around for whatever’s next.

Published in: on January 6, 2011 at 10:00 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/06/day-5-tuna-sandwiches-my-way/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Alicia, That is what Darla and I are having tonight for supper with a slight variation. Onions minced.


Leave a Reply

