Day 6 : Hummers For Two

TGIF!  Time to put the kids to bed, slip into something comfy, put your feet up, and enjoy some quiet adult time!  After a few three day weekends in a row and consequently shorter work weeks for my husband, this full 5 day work week has dragged by at an alarmingly slow pace.  I always look forward to the weekends, but this week was just one of those weeks that leaves you feeling utterly exhausted.

Anyway, I decided to try this drink because the liquors used reminded me of a drink called Cloud Nine that I used to love to get at Chilis.  I think that one had actual coffee in it as well though and probably some milk instead of the ice cream.  For this one I used my in-laws homemade kahlua, chocolate mint bailey’s (because it’s what I had on hand), and I sent my husband out to pick up the frangelico on his way home from work (VERY good btw!).  He of course came back with that and much more lol.

The recipe as stated was a tad on the strong side for me, but I am one of those people who enjoys drinks more when you can’t taste the alcohol in it.  Either way I did end up adding a bit of milk to them at the end just to weaken them a bit.  It also helps to ease my guilt over having a drink, knowing that my 10 month old will be up in a few hours to nurse again.  The finished product is absolutely sinful!

The Hummer

Serves : 2            Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 4 oz Frangelico
  • 4 oz Kahlua
  • 4 oz Bailey’s
  • 2 scoops vanilla ice cream 

Directions :

1. Blend together until smooth and creamy.
2. Serve in a hurricane glass.

Cheers!

Published in: on January 7, 2011 at 10:27 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/day-6-hummers-for-two/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. heh heh that is a dirty dirty name!


Leave a Reply

