Day 7 : Welcome Hut a.k.a Family Pizza Night

My son LOVES Pizza Hut stuffed crust pizza, and we end up ordering it often.  If you ever met our son, you’d know he is an extremely picky eater.   Attempts to get him to eat other pizzas most often fail, but we figured we’d give it a try tonight by luring him in with the idea of making it at home together.  I honestly didn’t have high hopes that he’d try it, let alone eat it, but I figured it would be fun to do together and Jeff and I enjoy homemade pizza anyway.

So we went to the store, got all the ingredients, and had a great time making it together.  We even got string cheese to cut up and use as “stuffed crust” for our pizza.  Unfortunately, as it sometimes does, the stuffed crust portion came undone in the oven and didn’t work as well as I’d hoped.  I guess I needed to tuck it in just a bit more in spots.  The taste was still good, but my son is all about appearances when it comes to food.  To his credit he DID try a few bites (a HUGE deal for him) before deciding he was done.  Jeff and I enjoyed it well enough though.

Nothing fancy for the pictures today…. just a quick couple of snaps.  The first is just before it went in the oven, and the second was my son taking the first bite!

 

Family Pizza Night

Serves : 1 family            Time to make : 40 minutes

Ingredients :

  • pizza crust (we most often use the refrigerated pilsbury variety)
  • pizza sauce (homemade or jar variety)
  • cheese, and LOTS of it!  (we use a blend of cheeses on ours)
  • pepperoni, ham, sausage (your preference)
  • olives, mushrooms, onions, peppers, etc. (again it’s up to you)
  • string cheese (we used about 4-5 I think to go all the way around)
  • corn meal

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to whatever your crust specifies.
  2. Roll out your crust.  If you are making stuffed crust be sure to make it bigger than you would otherwise.  We actually used 2 things of pizza dough for ours, but I think one and a half would be perfect.
  3. Spread a bit of corn meal on the surface of your stone, pan, or sheet and spread your dough out on there.  If you are doing stuffed crust cut the string cheeses in half length-wise and tuck under the edges of the dough all the way around your pizza.
  4. pile on as much or as little of your toppings as you like!  I usually go in the order of sauce, toppings, cheese… but sometimes I like my toppings on the top of the cheese too.
  5. Bake as stated on the instructions to the crust you are using.
  6. ENJOY!

 

Now I’m off to go have a Family Game Night with my wonderful family.

Published in: on January 8, 2011 at 7:48 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/08/day-7-welcome-hut-a-k-a-family-pizza-night/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

