Day 9 : Bacon Cheeseburger Roll-ups

Tonight’s recipe is the perfect thing for little hands.  Those with little ones will know what I mean when I say that some foods are just a hassle to have because kids just can’t hold them well enough… burgers being one of those foods.  These little pocket burgers are not only fun and exciting for kids, but they are mess-free, which is a major plus for us parents!  Depending on how well they hold up, they might be great for packed lunches as well.  We didn’t have any leftovers so I really can’t say lol.

As far as taste, these did indeed remind me of a bacon cheeseburger.  My ONLY complaint would be the velveeta.  I am just not a fan, and feel that some REAL cheese could really make these great.  The only reason I used the called-for velveeta was because Jeff likes it.  Every once in a while I like to make something I know he will enjoy so that he is more open to trying the many other new and sometimes odd concoctions I put in front of him.  One great thing about this recipe is that the ingredients are all very basic and a lot us would probably have them on hand at all times.

Since I am very particular about my bacon…. it has to basically be so crunchy it’s almost burnt…. I decided to cook that first and set aside rather than doing it all together.  I added it back at the very end, once the cheese was melted to keep it as crisp as possible.  I used a rolling pin sprayed with cooking spray to flatten out my biscuits.  They rolled up fairly easily and I didn’t have any explode or leak in the oven, which is always a plus.  I’m sure it would not effect the taste, but it’s always nice to be able to put beautiful looking food on the table.

 

Bacon Cheeseburger Roll-ups

Serves : 4-8            Time to make : 40 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 6 slices bacon, diced
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 (8 ounce) package  Velveeta cheese, cubed
  • 1 (16 1/3 ounce) package large refrigerated buttermilk biscuits
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup yellow mustard

Directions :

  1. In a large skillet, cook the beef, bacon and onion over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain. Add cheese; cook and stir until melted. Remove from the heat.
  2. Flatten each biscuit into a 5-in. circle; spoon 1/3 cup beef mixture onto each biscuit. Fold sides and ends over filling and roll up. Place seam side down on a greased baking sheet.
  3. Bake at 400° for 18-20 minutes or until golden brown. In a small bowl, combine ketchup and mustard; serve with roll-ups.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/10/day-9-bacon-cheeseburger-roll-ups/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

