Day 10 : Margarita Guacamole

If you’re anything like me, you’ve had some good guacamole and some very bad guacamole in your life.  The degree of variation out there is quite large, ranging from creamy very salty and processed versions to chunky or very bland versions.  I, myself, prefer the chunkier, fresher, more flavorful variety, of which this is definitely one!

The recipe comes from Food.com, and boasts that when making this for a party you will know everyone by the end of the night because they will have all approached you for the recipe….. that just may be true!  Definitely an adult party food, but I am sure you could leave out the alcohol or substitute in lime and orange juice to make it kid friendly as well.  I think it would be very fun to serve this for a Mexican themed dinner party perhaps and place one Margarita glass full between each couple or whatever.  I didn’t do it tonight, since it was an afterthought, but I bet it would look really cool to salt the rim of your glass as well or garnish with some extra cilantro in each glass.  Then you could put the chips in those cute little tin pails to go with each glass.

I made a couple of minor changes to the recipe based on things I had.  I used Lime Tequila which I really like for cooking purposes.  I also used part of a pablano pepper in place of the jalapeno and just guessed at the amount.  I halved the recipe with no problem, and ended up just using a full garlic clove because I love garlic, and 2 avocados rather than waste any.  I did accidentally pour a bit too much tequila…. but I am sure that only made it better lol.  Oh and I used course sea salt because I love little bursts of saltiness in my food!

Margarita Guacamole

Serves : 4                         Time to make : 15 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 3 avocados, peeled and chopped
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon tequila
  • 1 tablespoon orange liqueur
  • 6 green onions, sliced
  • 2 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 fresh jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions :

  1. Combine avocado and lime juice, stirring to coat.
  2. Mash mixture with a fork (mixture will still be slightly lumpy).
  3. Add tequila and remaining ingredients, stirring until well blended.
  4. Serve with tortilla chips.

 

Thanks for checking in, and I hope you’ll stick around for whatever is next.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/day-10-margarita-guacamole/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This looks amazing Alicia, I’m going to have to try it! Thanks for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

