Day 11 : Ultimate Strawberry Cheesecake Shake

I was all set to make dinner tonight for my daily recipe, when I realized I forgot to get chicken the other day!  So that will have to wait now until I can get to the store again.  Instead we had leftovers.  Luckily I already had a back-up recipe on hand.

These shakes are very rich and creamy, and do in fact remind me of strawberry cream cheese.  I think in order to get the cheesecake effect however, there needs to be graham cracker crumbs on top or something else that resembles the crust added to it.  I did forget to add the vanilla, which may have brought it closer to actually tasting like cheesecake, but it’s hard to say.  Still, a very good shake to be enjoyed as is, or a great starting point to be taken in many different directions.  Perhaps you could add banana, or chocolate to them, or even other mixed berries.  The possibilities are limited only to your imagination.

The original recipe did not call for cream, but I felt it was necessary in a shake so took the liberty to add some.  I also decided not to make it quite like the directions stated, since I wasn’t really sure why they would blend some of it, then add a scoop and soda afterwards…. seemed more like a float than a shake to me so I just adjusted the steps and measurements as needed and made it as a typical shake.  That’s what I will post here for you.

Ultimate Strawberry Cheesecake Shake

Serves : 2                                 Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 C. frozen strawberries
  • 2 oz fat free cream cheese, softened
  • 2 scoops strawberry ice cream
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 C. strawberry cream soda (or raspberry if you can’t find it)
  • 1/2 C. fat free half and half cream
  • whip cream

Directions :

  1. Mix all ingredients, except whip cream, in blender until smooth.
  2. Pour into two glasses and top with whip cream.
  3. Enjoy!

 

 

Published in: on January 12, 2011 at 9:22 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/day-11-ultimate-strawberry-cheesecake-shake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

