Day 13 : Heston

Today has been a whirlwind of a day.  After a week of low grade occasional fevers with no other symptoms we decided it was time to call the doctor anyway and it’s good that we did!  Turns out Perrin has strep, and possibly even advanced to scarlet fever by this point.  He acted all week as if nothing was wrong, but sometimes you just have to be that overprotective parent that calls in for a low but persistent fever!  Ironically his seemingly nonexistent illness rapidly took a turn for the worse while we were at our appointment, but after a rough night he seems to be doing better and now has antibiotics to get better.

Anyway, this yet again put my plans for dinner on hold, forcing me to come up with a back-up plan last minute.  Rather than search for a new recipe I decided to turn to an old favorite, and one that I could definitely use after a day like today.  I want to say that I truly am not a big drinker, but when I do want a little something this is totally my style.  It’s smooth going down, and has a very refreshing quality to it.  Best of all it doesn’t TASTE like alcohol, which is a major plus in my book!

I use my own Amaretto for this, which sadly I used the rest of tonight.  Maybe I’ll have to make that soon for my blog!  I also found that those mini sized soda cans are the perfect amount for this drink so I keep a few on hand.  This may be a super simple recipe, but it’s still one worth making!

 

Heston

serves : 1

Ingredients :

  • shot of Amaretto liquor
  • mini can (about 8 oz I think) 7-up
  • ice cubes

Directions :

  1. Put ice cubes in a glass.
  2. Pour in the shot, followed by the 7-up and swirl w/ s swizzle stick.
  3. Enjoy and relax!

 

 

Here’s to a better tomorrow!

 

Published in: on January 14, 2011 at 10:25 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/14/day-13-heston/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

