Day 17 : Pineapple Strawberry Banana Smoothie

I have to admit, I went into tonight’s recipe already assuming that it might not be for me since I generally detest the flavors of strawberry and banana together.  Let’s just say I got a little burnt out on it one night long ago……  Anyway, I want to use this project to not only make things I know and love, or even to make things I know I WILL love, but also to try new things and give others a second chance.

Like I said, I don’t like strawberries and banana together, but I do like them separately, and I discovered a love for pineapple on our honeymoon in Tahiti.  Of course you haven’t HAD pineapple, until you’ve tried it there.  Unfortunately, it is something they don’t export.  This recipe calls for canned pineapple which is what I used tonight, but I think it could only be made better with the use of fresh pineapple.  The three fruits blended together result in a very refreshing and tropical smoothie!  I wouldn’t say any particular fruit comes across as overpowering, yet each can be detected.  It has a very light and airy texture to it, and although my preference runs more to the thicker, creamier, icier drinks, I wasn’t bothered by it in this one.  I wonder if a bit of coco lopez would be good in this for a truly tropical blend……

It’s not a very interesting beverage to photograph, and I didn’t have any leftover ingredients for props… but if you want to make it more presentable you could maybe garnish with a mini kabob with a chunk of each fruit, or maybe a sprig of mint for contrast.

 

Pineapple Strawberry Banana Smoothie

Serves : 2-3                                     Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 20oz can of pineapple chunks in their own juice (reserve juice)
  • 1 C. pineapple juice
  • 1 banana
  • 1 C. fat free vanilla yogurt
  • 1/2 C. strawberries

Directions :

  1. Blend all ingredients together until smooth.
  2. Enjoy!

 

Published in: on January 18, 2011 at 10:02 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/day-17-pineapple-strawberry-banana-smoothie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

