Day 18 : Spicy Chicken Sandwiches with Cilantro-Lime Mayo

Before I get to tonight’s recipe I wanna take a moment to gush about my new gadget!  This Christmas I became the new owner of a Demy, which is a digital recipe reader for those that are unfamiliar with the name.  It comes with recipes already loaded on it, but there is plenty of room to add many more of your own.  The device works along with a site called Key Ingredient, which is where you collect and enter your recipes.  Then you just plug it in and hit the sync button and voila!  Your recipe is now loaded onto the Demy, which couldn’t be more handy for those like me that try a lot of new recipes.

It’s got everything including a touch screen, splash resistant design, converter, substitution guide, multiple font sizes, 3 timers, organizable cookbooks, and more.  I used to drag my laptop into the kitchen with me which worked well enough, but it’s quite big and finding counter space was not always an easy task, especially when I had a lot of prep work for a recipe and needed the space for that.  It is said to hold 2500+ recipes, but I have seen some mention that it could even be more like 5000 with pictures, and 10000 without pictures.  Either way it’s a great gadget and as of my initial review I am recommending it!

Now for tonight’s recipe…. which actually comes from the Key Ingredient site where somebody posted it as originally coming from Cooking Light.  I really enjoy cooking with lime and fresh herbs, so it was the mayo that caught my eye, but the chicken is a star on it’s own!  The two together, combine to create something that I would deem restaurant quality.  I was concerned that the tabasco would be a bit too much for me since the only time I have ever really come across it in a recipe was for a very small amount…. this used up most of a 2oz bottle I had, but of course as a marinade a lot of it gets tossed so you aren’t actually eating it all.  However, it was just the right amount of spicy I think and was well balanced by the cool freshness of the mayo.

I did run into one little issue while making these though.  The chicken….. For the life of me I cannot get breaded chicken to turn out right in a skillet!  I always follow the recipes, but I either can’t get the breading to stick throughout the cooking process, or the breading burns before I can cook the chicken through.  Granted I think the chicken pieces I use are often larger than what most recipes call for, but that leads me to another point…. Where the heck to do people get these small chicken breasts?!  Ours are always way bigger than most recipes call for, and even when pounded out it just doesn’t cook properly in a skillet with breading.

Anyway, I was able to brown them up in the skillet and then I baked them for about a half hour til they were done all the way through.  As long as I was careful most of the chip coating stayed on, but some did fall off.  I used lime flavored tortilla chips for mine and they were very good.  “Time to make” will reflect the baking time for the chicken but not marinating time so don’t forget that part like I almost did.

Spicy Chicken Sandwiches with Cilantro-Lime Mayo

Serves : 4                                  Time to make : 45 minutes

Ingredients :

Mayo

  • 1/4 C. light mayo
  • 2 T. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp. fresh lime juice
  • 1 garlic clove, minced

Chicken

  • 1/4 C. egg substitute
  • 3 T. hot sauce (such as Tabasco)
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 (6oz) boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 4 1/2 oz baked tortilla chips (about 6 cups)
  • 2 T. olive oil

Remaining Ingredients

  • 4 kaiser rolls, split
  • 12 red onion slices
  • 4 lettuce leaves

Directions :

1. To prepare mayo, combine the first 4 ingredients.
2. To prepare chicken, combine egg substitute, hot sauce, oregano, and salt in a large zip-top
plastic bag. Cut chicken breast halves in half horizontally to form 4 cutlets. Add chicken to bag;
seal. Marinate in refrigerator 2 hours or up to 8 hours, turning bag occasionally.
3. Place tortilla chips in a food processor; process 1 minute or until ground. Place ground chips
in a shallow dish.
4. Working with one cutlet at a time, remove chicken from marinade, allowing excess to drip
off. Coat chicken completely in chips. Set aside. Repeat procedure with remaining chicken and
chips.
5. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add olive oil to pan, swirling to coat. Add
chicken to pan; cook 3 minutes on each side or until browned and done. Spread mayo evenly
over cut sides of rolls. Layer bottom half of each roll with 3 onion slices, 1 lettuce leaf, and 1
chicken cutlet; top with top halves of rolls.


Published in: on January 19, 2011 at 9:36 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/19/day-18-spicy-chicken-sandwiches-with-cilantro-lime-mayo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

