Day 19 : Chocolate Covered Saltine Crackers

Yet another night that what I had planned to do fell through.  After a long day of feeling not well, and then Jeff having to come home and snow blow the driveway tonight it was time for take-out.  So I needed a back-up recipe, and remembered that I had bought all the stuff for this a while back when I was planning my Christmas cookie tray.  It’s something I’ve never tried, but it sounded so interesting that I wanted to give it a try.  It also had GREAT reviews.  They are the perfect salty/sweet treat!

It’s very simple to make, and would also be easy to vary it to your tastes.  Maybe some white and dark chocolate pieces, or coconut, varying nuts, peanut butter pieces, or even craisins.  I left the raisins off because we aren’t big fans.  One little tip….. watch out for splatter when the sugar and butter are boiling!  I got popped and of course burned myself lol.  I think this is a great little treat to hand out around the holidays all wrapped up in a little tin or goodie bag with a recipe card, or even just whenever.  It’s also a fun recipe for the kids to help with because they can pile on the sprinkles and whatever they like and help make them look colorful.

*Warning these things are ADDICTING!  I had to send half of them to work with Jeff so we didn’t eat them all!

Chocolate Covered Saltine Crackers

Serves : 20                         Time to make : 10 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 40 saltine crackers
  • 1 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 12 ounces mini chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts
  • 1/2 cup toffee pieces
  • 1 tablespoon candy sprinkles (to garnish) (optional)
  • 1/4 cup raisins (optional)
  • Directions :

    1. Arrange 40 saltine crackers on foil in a jelly roll pan.
    2. Melt butter and brown sugar in pan and boil 3 minutes.
    3. Pour over crackers.
    4. Bake at 350°F for 5 minutes. Pour chocolate chips over and let stand 5 minutes to melt.
    5. Spread around with knife and then sprinkle nuts and toffee bits over top and or raisins.
    6. Garnish with colored sprinkles.
    7. Place in refrigerator until hard.
    8. Break into bite-size pieces.

     

    Published in: on January 20, 2011 at 10:07 pm  Comments (11)  
    Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/20/day-19-chocolate-covered-saltine-crackers/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    11 CommentsLeave a comment

    1. Those look surprisingly good. For being based on saltines I mean.

      • They are very good, you should try them! Super simple. The saltines add that great salty/sweet quality like for chocolate covered pretzels. It really reminds me of a heath bar in many ways too.

    2. My mom and I used to make these every year at Christmas we call them “Bark” they are so tasty and you are right they are addicting!

      Sydney Jones

    3. I saw chocolate and immediately I wanted to try it lol. Very nice recipe. I enjoyed reading this post.

    4. They look cute:) I think I`ll try them for my next party:)

    5. Nice site, thanks for the post… I suggest NotitiAE too… at this link:
      http://notitiae.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/croce-e-delizia-tour-io-sono-il-canto/

    6. I’ve seen something very similar done with Ritz crackers before and was thinking about trying it. Hubster is a little more reluctant than me though.

    7. My mom loves making these. As Young Wifey mentioned I too have seem them with Ritz Crackers. Keep up with your daily blog. I’m trying to blog once a week. Nice picture.

    8. Oh, we call these “Crack” at our house. Because of the crackers…of course! Well, that and the fact that they’re so hard to resist. I like the idea of other toppings in addition to nuts. Lovely photo.

    9. What a great way to improve a boring salting crackers! I love the idea.

      Raymund
      http://angsarap.wordpress.com


    Leave a Reply

