Day 20 : Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

20 days now and still going strong!  I want to take a second to thank all of those who are actually reading my blog!  I appreciate the extra motivation, as it is too easy to get lazy if I am just doing this for myself.  I’d love to hear from you on here if you make any of the recipes I have posted, and I added a star rating system to each post that I hope you will use if you decide to try any of them.

Tonight’s recipe is another one from the Key Ingredients site.  It’s a nice twist on traditional tacos and very simple to make.  Jeff really enjoyed these, as did I, my only suggestion is to squirt a little more lime juice onto each assembled taco as the flavor is a bit too subtle for my tastes.  I also think a little cilantro thrown in could really make these great!  I’d say you can get about 8-10 of the smaller sized tacos out of this, you may just wanna use a bit more cheese and lettuce than listed.  I, myself, rarely measure stuff like that when I am cooking, but I am certain I used more tonight.  Don’t mind the quick photo, with i’s over the top bokeh, I was getting quite hungry lol.

Now to go scarf down more of yesterday’s treats….

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Serves : 4-5                      Time to make : 30 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 1/2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken breast, cubed
  • 1/8 C. red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 8-10 flour tortillas (6-inch)
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1/4 C. shredded monteray jack cheese
  • 1/4 C. shredded lettuce
  • 1/4 C. salsa

Directions :

  1. Saute chicken in a medium skillet over medium-high heat for about 20 minutes or until done through and browned.
  2. Add the vinegar, lime juice, sugar, salt, pepper, oregano, onions, and garlic and simmer for about another 10 minutes.
  3. Warm tortillas either in the microwave or in an iron skillet and assemble tacos with the chicken, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, and salsa.

 

 

Published in: on January 21, 2011 at 8:40 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/21/day-20-lime-chicken-soft-tacos/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

