Day 22 : Three Berry Scones (Weight Watchers) & Raspberry Butter

Since I know my husband is reading this I am going to take this moment to do a little hint dropping….. I NEED a good macro lens!  I have been eyeballing a very nice one for quite some time, but haven’t been able to justify the hefty pricetag.  Through doing this blog I am quickly starting to see the justification with all these close-ups.  They could be SO much better with a nice macro lens…….

Ok, so today features another weight watchers recipe, though I did not choose it because of that.  It was one that happened to make it up on the front page of the Key Ingredients site, and I thought it looked good by the pictures posted there.  Breads in general are one of the things I don’t often make because to be honest they sort of intimidate me.  This recipe however was quite simple and though I feared how it might turn out after seeing how messy my scones looked before they went in the oven they in fact turned out quite nice and actually even look like scones!

Both Jeff and I felt that for taste these deserved at least a high 4, but that factoring in the health factor they were definitely a 5 for us.  They aren’t really sweet, so if you like your scones a bit sweeter I recommend whipping up some raspberry butter to go along with them.  That’s what I did and they were PERFECT together, even if it made the points value a little higher lol.  As a little bonus I am going to throw that recipe in today too!

The butter is great on biscuits, scones, toast, pancakes, or anything else you would normally put butter on.  It’s a great thing to set out for a brunch that will really wow your guests!  It can be made with whatever flavored preservatives you prefer as well.  It will look a little “curdled” in appearance but don’t worry about that.  It spreads on smooth and it doesn’t effect the taste at all.

I followed the recipe pretty closely since, as I mentioned before, I am not really comfortable when it comes to adjusting bread recipes.  I actually used a 4 berry blend though (it’s what I had) that included raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries.  I did cut some of them up because it seemed a bit crazy to have a whole strawberry in there and my blackberries were HUGE.  Oh and I did need to make my own buttermilk again, and had no issues with it.

I saw somewhere that these were 2 points per scone, but I didn’t double check.

Three Berry Scones

Serves : 12                    Time to make : 30 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled and cut into small pieces
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen unsweetened mixed berries

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 400ºF.
  2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
  4. Mix in butter until mixture is size of fine crumbs.
  5. Stir in buttermilk, then berries.
  6. On a prepared baking sheet, shape dough into two 7-inch circles.
  7. Cut each into 6 wedges; coat with butter-flavored cooking spray.
  8. Bake until cooked through and golden, about 20 minutes.

Raspberry Butter

Makes : 3/4 C.           Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 C. butter, room temp
  • 1/4 C. seedless raspberry preserves

Directions :

  1. Simply place butter and preserves into a food processor, and blend til smooth.
  2. Store in an air-tight container in the fridge.
Thanks for reading, and don’t forget to come back!
Published in: on January 23, 2011 at 7:34 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/23/day-22-three-berry-scones-weight-watchers-raspberry-butter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

