Day 23 : Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

What a rollercoaster of a day!  It started off rocky when I almost slid into a truck in front of me at an icy traffic light, but got better with a clean bill of dental health for me.  Partway through the day I ended up getting horrible heartburn that would not go away so I had to have Jeff do a quick grocery run after work to get a few things for the night.  Then my son came down with a fever again after finally finishing his antibiotics for strep last night, which later turned into a rash all over his face and midsection so we just got back from the ER.  Luckily it was not an allergic reaction or anything too serious and they figured it was just a viral thing or slight rash from the meds.  One great thing though that happened today was that my blog was featured on FoodPress.com for my Chocolate Covered Saltine Crackers post a few days back.  Not only is it very neat to see your work featured, but it brought in a staggering amount of blog traffic pushing me up to 250+ views just today!

Somewhere in the chaos of the day I did find time to make a recipe for my blog, and it is a good one!  I have never been a person that liked soup, but this one I like.  It’s not very brothy which I prefer, and I just love the lemony flavor.  This is a soup I have made many times, and now consider to be my go-to recipe for a nice warm comfort food on a cold busy day.  It’s super simple to make, and becomes even easier if you do like me and use a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store.  I usually get the lemon pepper chicken and use the entire thing for this because we like a lot of chicken in our soup.  I also go ahead and use the rind from the entire lemon which is usually more than the recipe calls for.  I even add a bit of lemon pepper on occasion if I want it super lemony.   Next time you are in the mood for a nice bowl of chicken soup I highly recommend you try this one.  You will not be sorry!

Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

Serves : 6-8                          Time to make : 30 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 (46oz) can chicken broth
  • 1 can condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 2 cups chicken, cooked
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice, fresh
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon rind
  • 1 cup uncooked rice

Directions :

  1. In a 5-quart Dutch oven, combine chicken broth and cream of chicken soup, mixing until well blended.
  2. Stir in rice, chicken, lemon juice and rind.
  3. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer 20 minutes or until rice is tender.

Published in: on January 24, 2011 at 11:13 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/day-23-greek-lemon-chicken-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Looks pretty good Alicia.
    I think Darla and I will try it sometime.


Leave a Reply

