Day 27 : Ginger Lime Mayo & Ginger Citrus Marinade

Since I still haven’t gotten to the store for my main groceries I was forced to get creative again.  It’s good though, because when I have to make dinner from what I already have at the house without a plan I use up a lot of the stuff that might get thrown out otherwise.  I chose the Mayo for tonight’s main recipe because it really was the “star” of the meal, but I also threw together a quick marinade for the chicken which I will share as well.

The marinade turned out pretty well I thought.  I would have preferred to maybe throw in some lime zest to really push the lime flavor in it, but I didn’t have any on hand.  After grilling the chicken on my foreman which unfortunately lets a lot of the flavor roll off with the fat I could still taste the marinade so to me that means success lol.  I mixed up the mayo to go over the top though since I knew the flavor from the marinade would be pretty subtle if cooked that way.  Like I said, the mayo ended up being the best part of the meal for me.  I not only liked it on my chicken, but it made a great dip for our steak fries!

Ginger Lime Mayo

Makes : about 2/3 Cup              Time to make : 8 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 C. light mayo
  • 1 1/2 tsp. lime juice
  • 3 tsp. fresh ginger, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh parsley or cilantro, minced  (more for color than anything else)
  • 1/2 tsp. sesame oil

Directions :

  1. Mix all ingredients together in a small bowl and cover.
  2. Chill for a couple of hours at least to let the flavors blend.
  3. Serve over meat, as a dip, or however else you’d like.

Ginger Citrus Marinade

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 C. orange juice
  • 2 T. lime juice
  • 1 1/2 T. fresh ginger, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 T. cilantro, minced
  • dash of tabasco
  • 1 T. soy sauce

Directions :

  1. Place all ingredients into a ziplock bag along with your chicken and set in fridge for at least 4 hours, or up to 8.  There should be enough marinade to do between 3-4 pieces of chicken at least.

Published in: on January 28, 2011 at 8:25 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/28/day-27-ginger-lime-mayo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

