Day 29 : The Greek Lantern

WOW!  This drink proves that you can’t judge a book by it’s cover…. or a recipe by it’s ingredients!  I have to admit, I LOVE parsley and would put it on almost any dish, but as a drink?!?!  Even I was skeptical of this one.  In keeping with my promise to be adventurous during this project I figured I’d give it a try anyway.  Afterall, the worst that could happen is that I wouldn’t like it and could then dump it out.  However, this drink really surprised me and I think may have become a new favorite!  Even Jeff liked it after swearing he wasn’t even going to try it after hearing what was in it.

This drink is a very refreshing, and is the perfect drink to serve after a dinner.  Not only is it a gorgeous green color that instantly made me think it would be perfect for St. Patrick’s day, but parsley is said to have breath freshening capabilities, which makes it the perfect choice after a meal full of garlic, onions, or seafood.  As I said, it’s a beautiful color and the presentation in a nice glass with a little lime wedge and piece of parsley will wow your guests.  Beyond the taste and appearance this drink is fairly guiltless….. yes it has a good bit of sugar in it, but you could definitely get away with using something like splenda or another sugar substitute or even less sugar in general, and it’s by far lower in calories than a lot of other drinks if made that way.

This is a drink I can see myself making over and over again in the summer especially and it will be the perfect solution for all the left-over parsley I tend to have in my fridge.  I highly recommend this one!

 

The Greek lantern

Serves : 2                   Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 C. parsley
  • 1/2 tsp. lime zest
  • 1 C. cold water
  • 1/2 C. fresh squeezed lime juice
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • club soda
  • lime wedges and parsley for garnish

Directions :

  1. Combine the first five ingredients in a blender on high until well mixed and smooth.
  2. Strain through a fine mesh strainger.
  3. Pour parsley mixture over ice in a nice glass, and top off with as much club soda as you’d like.
  4. Garnish with a lime wedge and bit of parsley.

 

Published in: on January 30, 2011 at 11:34 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/day-29-the-greek-lantern/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

