Day 30 : Roasted Garlic Turkey Burgers w/ Portabella Mushrooms

30 days now!  Depending on how you look at it, that could be considered an entire month!  So that means, one down and 11 to go….

It occurred to me that it may look like I am overly kind when it comes to reviewing a recipe since for the most part I only give 4 or 5 star reviews.  The reason for this is because after so long at searching out and making recipes I have come to know what I like and don’t like in a recipe and either choose them accordingly, or alter them to better suit our tastes as I make them.  If I come across a recipe I have chosen for this blog that I honestly don’t like, I will not hesitate to be honest in my review.

Tonight’s recipe comes from Food.com, and is a very nice change from the basic burger.  Not only do you get the better health benefits of the ground turkey, but you get to step out of the comfort zone yet again and mix things up with some portabella mushrooms and some blue cheese.  Well, for me at least it is out of my comfort zone, since I had never been a fan of blue cheese.  Something about the smell and “off” flavor just doesn’t do it for me lol.  However, in this dish, I felt it added a nice tanginess/texture and was just the right amount.

The recipe suggests white button or crimini mushrooms as alternatives to the portabella, but I did use them tonight.  Likewise they recommended using either sourdough, french, or kaiser rolls, or ciabatta bread as the bun.  I found some great looking whole grain ciabatta rolls that were very good for this, but may have left them a tad drier than I’d prefer.  I think a bit of some sort of herb mayo could be the perfect solution though.

Roasted Garlic Turkey Burgers w/ Portabella Mushrooms

Serves : 4                       Time to make : 35 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 lb. ground turkey breast
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 6 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 6 oz. portabella mushrooms
  • 1 T. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 T. dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp. dried rosemary, crushed
  • 1 tsp. low sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 3 T. blue cheese, crumbled
  • 4 rolls (french, sourdough, kaiser, or ciabatta)
  • 4 lettuce leaves

Directions :

  1. In a nonstick skillet over medium high heat, heat oil.
  2. Add garlic cloves and cook until browned, turning to ensure even cooking.  Set aside to cool.
  3. In same skillet cook onion slices and soy sauce until onions are tender.
  4. Add mushrooms and continue to cook until they are also tender.
  5. Pour in the balsamic vinegar and stir until dissolved (about 30 seconds), then remove from heat.
  6. Mince garlic, then combine with turkey, mustard, rosemary, salt and pepper, forming into 4 equal sized patties.
  7. Either on a grill, or in a skillet (sprayed with cooking spray) cook burgers until no longer pink.
  8. Slightly reheat the onions and mushrooms then stir in the crumbled blue cheese until it just begins to melt.
  9. Assemble burgers with lettuce on the bottom, burger, and mushroom/onions on top.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/01/31/day-30-roasted-garlic-turkey-burgers-w-portabella-mushrooms/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

