Day 32 : Greek Salad

Happy Groundhog Day everyone!  I could not be happier for the early spring prediction!  I am SO over this cold and snow lol.

Today I wanted to keep things a little lighter after our pizza night last night.  There is a local restaurant that serves this awesome greek salad and I wanted to see if I could find a similar salad to make at home since it’s not often we go out with two little ones these days.  This salad comes pretty close to matching the one from the restaurant, but is a bit different.  The one they serve doesn’t have the cucumbers and green peppers, and has roasted garlic, but I like the extra crunch they add and of course I could always throw in some roasted garlic if I had the time.  The dressing is really nice, and I can see making it just to have around for side salads even.

The only change I made was to add some chicken to make it more of a meal.  I used a greek seasoning blend recipe to create my own, but you could use any store bought variety you liked or even just wing it on the seasonings.  I think for personal tastes I would leave out the tomatoes next time or maybe use some grape tomatoes.  Make sure to plan ahead for this one so the dressing has time to blend all the flavors really well.

And since it was my niece’s 3rd birthday today I decided we’d make some cupcakes!  Too bad she lives hundreds of miles away lol.  Anyway, I just did boxed funfetti cake and canned frosting but I did add my own little touch and threw in some orange extract to the batter.  YUM!  I took pics just for fun.

Greek Salad

Serves : 4                 Time to make : 10 minutes

Ingredients :

Dressing

  • 1 cup olive oil (can reduce to 3/4 cup)
  • 1 whole large lemon, juice of (about 3-4 tablespoons, make certain that the lemon is at room temperature before squeezing)
  • 2 -4 teaspoons dried oregano (start with 2 teaspoons)
  • 3 teaspoons fresh minced garlic (about 2 medium cloves)
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper (or to taste)

Salad

  • 1 large romaine lettuce, chopped (or use 2 small)
  • 2 -3 plum tomates, cut in wedges (use Roma tomatoes)
  • 1 English cucumber (peeled, seeded and chopped)
  • 1 red onion, cut in slices
  • 1 green bell pepper (seeded and cut into rings or sliced) (optional)
  • 1/2 lb feta cheese, crumbled (or to taste)

Directions :

  1. For the dressing; in a processor or use a wire whisk process/whisk the olive oil with lemon juice, 2 teaspoons dried oregano, garlic, dried, basil, red wine vinegar, salt and sugar until smooth (add in more oregano and lemon juice if needed).
  2. Season with black pepper.
  3. Chill in fridge for a couple of hours before using to blend flavors.
  4. Place the salad ingredients in a large bowl.
  5. Pour dressing over; toss to combine.
  6. If desired allow the salad to sit at room temperature for 20 minutes before serving, or you can refrigerate for 1 hour (tossing a few time during sitting time).

* Don’t forget the chicken if you wanted to add it…. just cook it up before you start and let it cool while you prepare your salad.

Published in: on February 2, 2011 at 10:19 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/02/day-32-greek-salad/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

