Day 33 : Cajun Shrimp Casserole

Today we discovered a new comfort food.  I have to admit that I was a bit shocked to discover that they not only made cream of shrimp soup, but also that it was available in our area!  I lived a sheltered life growing up here in the Pacific Northwest.  We never ate shrimp in our house, let alone shrimp soup!  It wasn’t until after I moved out of my parent’s house that I discovered a love for shrimp and over the years have discovered many great recipes for it.

This casserole looks as great as it tastes.  There are so many colors in it from the peppers and it’s nice and creamy with just the right amount of spice from the cayenne.  I’d say that it was a good amount of spice, nothing that my husband and I couldn’t handle, but if I were making it for kids as well I might pull back just a bit on the cayenne.  One thing I did differently was to cook the peppers and onions less since I prefer mine to retain a little bit of crunch as well as their gorgeous color which tends to fade with long cooking.  I also used already cooked shrimp since while at the store I couldn’t remember which I needed.  So when I got to that step I just didn’t cook it for very long before moving on.  After my first helping I went ahead and added a bit of minced parsley to my second plate and felt that really took a great dish and made it even better so next time I will just add it to the entire top at the very end.  I also used probably at least twice the amount of parmesan and chose shredded because…. well you gotta love cheese!

I do wonder about the wine in this though…. since it is added at the end of the skillet cooking and it isn’t baked for very long I wonder if it truly has time and enough heat to “cook off”.  If you are concerned about it for children you could always substitute some vegetable broth for the wine.

 

Cajun Shrimp Casserole

Serves : 6                   Time to make : 45 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 2 lbs shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup green bell pepper, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 (10 3/4-ounce) can cream of shrimp soup
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 T. soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 3 cups cooked white rice
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • Lemon slices and parsley for garnish

Directions :

  1. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add onions, and all three peppers, saute until tender.
  2. Add garlic and saute another minute before stirring in lemon juice and salt.
  3. Add shrimp and cook until pink.
  4. Stir in soup and next 4 ingredients until blended.
  5. Pour into a lightly greased 9×9 baking dish and top with the parmesan.
  6. Bake 15-20 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

 

 

Published in: on February 3, 2011 at 9:10 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/03/day-33-cajun-shrimp-casserole/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

