Day 37 : Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms in a Gorgonzola Sauce

I hope you have been enjoying my blog so far.  I obviously have been enjoying everything a little too much given the fact that I am up about 2.5 lbs from the start!  Looks like it’s about time to start picking more healthy dishes lol.  Anyway, tonight’s dish was great, and in my opinion not too UN-healthy either!

I used a multi-grain penne, which tends to be a little dryer in flavor so I really think next time I would make twice the sauce because it was SO good.  I did already double the mushrooms (crimini) because I didn’t want to waste any, and also doubled the garlic because I pretty much always do.  I didn’t measure the gorgonzola, but I am sure I used more than an ounce of that too, but I figured that would be better since I had used more mushrooms.  Really the only thing I hadn’t doubled was the milk and cream but will for sure next time.

I took the asparagus out at the start so once that had thawed a bit I cut it and then sauteed it shortly over medium heat in a  little bit of oil and seasoned it with salt and pepper with a small squeeze of lemon juice.  I love how it mimics the penne in size and shape.  It just makes it look so pretty!  If you love asparagus and want to get in more veggies feel free to throw a few more spears into this too.

Not being a wine connoisseur I am not really sure what passes as a DRY white wine, and so decided to just try a moscato for this which I think went very well.  It added a little sweetness that made the mushrooms burst with flavor in your mouth.  It was also a nice wine to drink along with the meal.

Penne w/ Apsaragus & Mushrooms in a Gorgonzola Sauce

Serves : 4                 Time to make : 25 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 T. butter
  • 4 oz. mushrooms (sliced)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 lb. penne
  • 1 clove garlic (chopped)
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh thyme (chopped)
  • 1 splash dry white wine
  • 1/4 C. milk
  • 2 T. heavy cream
  • 1 oz. gorgonzola (crumbled)
  • 1/2 lb. asparagus (cleaned, trimmed and cut into 1-in. slices like penne)

Directions :

  1. Melt the butter in a pan.
  2. Add the mushrooms, saute until tender (about 10 minutes), then season with salt and pepper at the end.
  3. Add the pasta to boiling water, and cook until al dente, about 7-10 minutes.
  4. Add the garlic and thyme to the pan of mushrooms and saute until fragrant, about a minute.
  5. Add the white wine and deglaze the pan.
  6. Add the milk,  heavy cream and gorgonzola.
  7. Place asparagus into a primed steamer until tender, about 3-4 minutes.
  8. Simmer the sauce until it thicken, several minutes.
  9. Drain the pasta and toss in the gorgonzola sauce along with the asparagus.

 

Published in: on February 7, 2011 at 9:21 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/07/day-37-penne-with-asparagus-and-mushrooms-in-a-gorgonzola-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

