Day 41 : Deviled Egg Salad Sandwiches

Do looks matter?  I think so…. and of course I am talking about food here lol.  One thing I enjoy, yet sometimes struggle with is finding ways to arrange boring or ugly foods in a way that makes them look interesting and gourmet.  A good portion of our enjoyment of a dish comes from it’s appearance after all and especially for a photograph that is meant to draw you in to wanting to try it yourself, the way you plate or prepare your food can mean a world of difference.  There are many foods that are tough to photograph, casseroles being one the bigger battles off the top of my head, but tonight’s recipe also falls under that ugly category.  Egg salad is far from beautiful, and the basic egg salad on bread is even more boring.  By getting a bit creative I was able to arrange things without compromising the taste of the dish in a much more pleasing way that I hope will better catch your eye because this one really is worth trying!

I discovered this recipe about a year ago, while on Weight Watchers also, and it is seriously probably the best egg sandwich you will ever taste!  It has SO much flavor and the bite from the vinegar really just makes you say WOW!  You can make this on whatever kind of bread you prefer…. I have made it on english muffins, toast, and tonight on just some un-toasted 9 grain bread and every time it is just fantastic.  The best thing for me is the fact that the ingredients are things I ALWAYS have on hand.  The added bonus that it works with weight watchers is like the cherry on top!

These are great for breakfast, or even for dinner like we had them tonight, but I think if done sort of like I did tonight, only in smaller portions they would make great appetizers for like a brunch or maybe a tea party.  What I did was rather than chop up the eggs, I sliced them.  Then I cut out a circular piece of bread with a pastry tool I have that crimps the edges.  I then layered about 6-7 slices of egg on top of each circle of bread, topped it with some of the sauce and onions, then sprinkled salt and pepper to taste on each.  For garnish I used a little parsley leaf, but I felt it actually lent a nice depth of flavor as well.

 

Deviled Egg Salad Sandwiches

Serves : 4                   Time to make : 10 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 8 hard boiled eggs
  • 8 slices of bread, or 4 buns of some sort
  • 1/3 cup reduced fat mayo
  • 2 T. prepared yellow mustard
  • 2 tsp. cider vinegar
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions :

  1. Place eggs, and green onion in a mixing bowl, and set aside.
  2. In a second small mixing bowl stir together mayo, mustard, vinegar, salt and pepper until smooth.
  3. Pour sauce over the eggs and onions and gently toss to combine.
  4. Place about 1/2 cup of mixture on each of four slices of bread and top with remaining four slices.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/day-41-deviled-egg-salad-sandwiches/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

