Day 42 : Italian Paninis

These little pieces of heaven are my own creations.  I don’t want to “toot my own horn” but they really are that good lol.  My husband is constantly trying to take the credit for these, but that man doesn’t have a culinary bone in his entire body.  I was watching a Paula Deen episode one day where they made some type of panini that sounded really good but I knew I had never seen most of the ingredients in my area so was forced to get creative and come up with my own.  I have since then published it on Food.com and received glowing reviews.

When I originally made it I used a package of various thin-cut italian meats that I haven’t been able to find lately.  It had hot calabrese, pepper salame, and capocollo in it.  Tonight I was forced to use one that had the capocollo and salame, but pepperoni for the third meat, and though I felt it was still very good, Jeff said he preferred the other meat.  So if you can find that, I would go with the original meats.  You really don’t want to leave anything out of this sandwich or substitute.  Each ingredient really has it’s place in this to create the most delicious blend of flavors, and a balance of sweet/salty/fresh/juicy/savory all at once.  I used to just toast the rolls, and put the cheese on afterward, but I really enjoyed the creaminess of the melted cheese and will do it that way from now on.

Italian Paninis

Serves : 4                Time to make : 15 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 3 oz. hot calabrese, thinly sliced
  • 3 oz. pepper salame, thinly sliced
  • 3 oz. hot capocollo, thinly sliced
  • 6 oz. prosciutto
  • 8 slices smoked gouda (enough to cover each roll from end to end)
  • 2 tsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 ts. balsamic vinegar
  • 4 romaine lettuce leaves
  • olive oil cooking spray
  • italian seasoning (to taste)
  • 1/3 cup roasted red peppers
  • red onion slices
  • fresh parmesan, shaved
  • parsley (about a tablespoon minced)
  • 4 asiago cheese rolls

Directions :

  1. Start by cooking your meats for a short time in a medium-high heat skillet.  You just want to do it for about a minute each to get them warmed up, and the juices flowing…. also to get some of the FAT out!  Once done place on paper towels and pat dry to remove more of the grease.
  2. Arrange cut rolls onto a baking sheet and spray with olive oil cooking spray.  Season with the italian seasoning to taste, and arrange gouda slices on 4 of the 8 pieces.  Place under the broiler for a couple of minutes until bread is toasted and cheese is starting to melt.
  3. Divide the meats evenly between the 4 sandwiches and then layer the onions, roasted re peppers, 1/2 tsp of each oil and vinegar per sandwich, parsley, parmesan, and then lettuce before topping off with the other half of the roll.
  4. ENJOY!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/day-42-italian-paninis/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

