Day 43 : Salmon-Cilantro Burgers

Until fairly recently I would never have imagined that fish could make a good burger.  The very idea of ground up fish grossed me out for some reason.  I decided to put my fears behind me one day and not only try a tuna burger, but to create my own for my introduction to the fish burger.  Luckily for me it turned out great and I was hooked on the idea!  To my surprise it did not get dried out and nasty like I thought, but rather stays soft and holds flavor very well.  My husband LOVES burgers and though I enjoy them as well, I like to mix things up a bit and the idea of different fish burgers makes that very easy.  They really are so versatile.

Tonight’s came from the Key Ingredients site that goes along with my Demy (digital recipe device I mentioned in an earlier post).  From that site it is credited back to Cooking Light, which is even better because I love not feeling guilty about what I am eating when it tastes so great!  These burgers pack a lot of flavor, and are ones you are going to want to make over and over again.  Thinking back to a post I made a couple days ago about how food should LOOK good as well as taste good these fit the bill nicely with such a pretty pink color, and all speckled with the cilantro and peppers.

I followed the recipe pretty closely, but left out the cucumbers just because Jeff doesn’t like them and I didn’t want to get a whole cucumber just for a couple slices.  One thing I did differently was to just make 2 big patties, because it did seem a bit skimpy as 4.  So if you are wanting to make these for guests you might keep that in mind and just increase the ingredients and get a little more salmon.  I also threw in the zest of one of the limes to the mayo because I hate wasting all that yummy flavor!  For the breadcrumbs I used an Italian blend and felt it went along well with the other flavors.  And last, instead of using the grill (or foreman usually in my case) I decided to cook these up in the skillet which worked very well.

 

Salmon-Cilantro Burgers

Serves : 2-4                           Time to make : 20 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/4 cup reduced fat mayo
  • 1 T. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 T. fresh lime juice
  • 1/8 tsp. fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 (1 pound) salmon fillet, skinned and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup dry breadcrumbs
  • 2 T. cilantro leaves
  • 2 T. chopped green onions
  • 1 T. chopped, seeded jalapeno pepper
  • 2 T. fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. fresh ground black pepper
  • cooking spray
  • 4 burger buns with sesame seeds, toasted
  • 12 slices english cucumber
  • 4 lettuce leaves

Directions :

  1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a small bowl, cover and chill.
  2. Place salmon in a food processor; pulse until coarsely chopped.  Add breadcrumbs and next 6 ingredients; pulse 4 times or until well blended. Divide into 4 equal portions, shaping into patties.
  3. Heat grill pan over medium-high heat.  Coat pan with cooking spray.  Add patties to pan; cook 2 minutes.  Carefully turn patties over ; cook 2 minutes or until done.
  4. Spread about 1 tablespoon of the mayo mixture over bottom half of each bun.  Top each serving with 1 salmon patty, 3 cucumber slices, 1 lettuce leaf, and top half of bun.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/13/day-43-salmon-cilantro-burgers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

