Day 44 : Raspberry Mocha Frappe

Happy Valentines Day!  I hope everyone had a great day w/ their loved ones.  I had THREE Valentines this year and boy did they spoil me!  I got a diamond Open Hearts Collection necklace, a dozen roses in a lovely arrangement, and a gourmet truffle is on it’s way from Sterling Confections.  As if that weren’t already more than enough I didn’t have to make dinner tonight, and instead we ordered pizza!  I did make dessert, but it didn’t look nearly as good as it tasted so I will not use it for today’s recipe…..it basically exploded open in the oven lol.

Anyway, I spent two years as a Barista, and as a result became VERY picky when it comes to coffee.  I now make many of my drinks at home, and this is my own little recipe.  Two Christmases ago I was gifted the Mr. Coffee Frappe machine and I cannot get over how awesome it is!  It’s not really good for someone who drinks lattes, but if you’re like me and prefer iced coffees this is the machine for you.

This recipe is really more of a method in many ways since I don’t typically measure anything for it.  I will try to give you estimates, but they are definitely just that, and you can add more or less to your own tastes.  I also like to strain my raspberries through a fine sieve if I have the time because I am not a fan of the seeds, but I didn’t tonight.  If you want to do that it is easiest if you add the milk to the raspberries and blend them then put them through the sieve.  Also feel free to use whatever type of ice cream you like.  I have done chocolate, the french silk, coffee, and even vanilla… all with great results.

Raspberry Mocha Frappe

Serves : 1                     Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 cup brewed coffee (I like to use hazelnut coffee beans)
  • 1//2 cup ice cream
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1-2 T. heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup raspberries, mashed and mixed with 1 package of splenda
  • 2-4 T. chocolate syrup (depends on how chocolatey you like it!)
  • whip cream

Directions :

  1. Combine everything except whip cream in a blender and mix until smooth.
  2. Top with the whip cream.

 

Published in: on February 14, 2011 at 9:02 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/14/day-44-raspberry-mocha-frappe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

