Day 46 : Cilantro-Jalapeno Latkes with Chipotle Sour Cream

Latkes, or potato pancakes, are a traditional dish in many European countries including Germany.  Being mostly German I like to try and  sample various German dishes from time to time to get a sense of what my ancestors might have eaten.  Honestly, a lot of the things they eat do NOT appeal to me lol, but I have been wanting to try some latkes for quite some time now and just never got around to it until now.  They are a lot like hashbrown patties and are quite good.  I especially like the crispy pieces and recommend cooking them til they are a bit on the darker side to ensure you have lots of crispies!

These latkes are definitely not traditionally flavored latkes, but are more of a southwest type latke, courtesy of Cooking Light Magazine!  It’s a nice blend of flavors and I liked that you could actually pick out each individual flavor in these, not knowing what was in it… I know because I quizzed Jeff on what he thought might be in them lol.  I bet there are many ways to enjoy latkes and you could have a lot of fun creating your own variations.

One thing I did learn about latkes however, is that they are a lot of work!  Definitely worth planning ahead and doing some of the prepwork ahead of time.  It might just be that while I was trying to make them my kids were driving me insane and I ended up having a business call in the middle as well, but these took me forever to prepare and I am very glad I started earlier in the evening.  I made the mayo first because I figured it probably would only get better the longer it chilled and I was right on that one.  Then I cleaned, peeled, and grated my potatoes next.  Since I knew it would still be a while before I was ready to actually make the latkes I put them in a bowl of ice water, fully submerged and covered the bowl, placing them in the fridge until I was ready to mix in the onions later.  The ice water ensures that your potatoes will not turn brown, which happens due to a chemical reaction between the potato and the air.

I could only fit 4 latkes in my skillet at a time, and by the end I did get a little anxious and didn’t cook them as long as I should have, but they were still very good.  One tip I figured out though was to be sure and replace the oil after each batch and not skimp on it because that helps get that golden crust on the outside.  Anyway, here is the recipe.

Cilantro-Jalapeno Latkes with Chipotle Sour Cream

Serves : 6           Time to make : a long time lol (maybe 50 minutes)

Ingredients :

  • 6 T. light sour cream
  • 1 T. chopped chipotle chile, canned in adobo sauce
  • 3/4 tsp. grated lime zest
  • 1 tsp. fresh lime juice
  • 6 cups shredded peeled baking potatoes (1 1/2lbs)
  • 1 cup grated fresh onion
  • 6 T. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 T. finely chopped seeded jalapeno pepper
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, drained

Directions :

  1. Combine first 4 ingredients in a small bowl, stirring well.  Cover and chill until ready to serve.
  2. Combine potato and onion in a colander, drain 30 minutes pressing occasionally with the back of a spoon until barely moist.  Combine potato mixture , flour, and next 5 ingredients (through salt) in a large bowl, toss well.
  3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add 2 tablespoons oil to pan, swirl to coat.  Spoon 1/4 cup potato mixture loosely into a dry measuring cup.  Pour mixture into pan, flatten slightly.  Repeat the procedure 5 times to form 6 latkes.  Saute 3 1/2 minutes on each side or until golden brown and thoroughly cooked.  Remove latkes from pan; keep warm.  Repeat procedure with remaining 2 tablespoons oil and potato mixture to yield 12 latkes total.  Serve with sour cream mixture.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/16/day-46-cilantro-jalapeno-latkes-with-chipotle-sour-cream/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice blog … Recipes!! Stopped by to Congratulate you on being listed in the first Daily Post Showcase! Debbie 🙂

  2. Hey, you have some delicious looking posts here. Do you mind if add some links here from my recipe page? This might be a bit over my head [ i.e. making my own Mayo ] but think I’m up to the garbage omelet challenge. Thanks for sharing! – Tony


Leave a Reply

