Day 47 : Smoked Salmon Fettuccine Alfredo with Capers

While browsing through the fridge I realized I had a bunch of ingredients either left over or in full quantities that needed used very soon.  One thing I like to do is create my own recipes on occasion so that one day I can pass them down to my children, and they to their’s and so on and so on, until one day they become a famous “family” recipe.  They may not all make the cut, but this one just might!  I will likely tweak it a bit still the next time I make it until it is perfect, but we felt it was pretty darn close as is.

I knew I wanted to use up the smoked salmon I bought the other day and then forgot about, and I realized I still had a bit of whipping cream left over, which instantly make me think of alfredo!   There is an alfredo sauce that I used to make that called for a TON of butter and whipping cream and is just so insanely bad for you….. but oh so good!  I wanted it to be like that, but on a smaller scale so I browsed a few recipes on Food.com and decided on this one that still used the ingredients just in smaller amounts.  Then I decided that I would use up some of the thyme I had left over because it just goes well with fish and of course you can have fish without lemon and capers!

This is definitely NOT a low fat or low calorie dinner, but in my opinion sometimes you just gotta go for it!  My new motto should maybe be that sometimes you need to STOP going for it…. but that’s another story lol.  One thing I might do differently next time is to reserve some of the pasta water to add if it seems too thick because this is definitely a thick sauce and if you are like me and eyeball your ingredients you may find it just a bit TOO much.  It also depends on the amount of pasta you make which I also eyeball.  I was also thinking that possibly some parsley thrown in could bring a nice fresh taste to counter the richness of the sauce.  I really liked the capers though and might add a few more next time.  You could probably get away with a little less salmon if you wanted, but Jeff really likes a lot of meat in his meals so I went with a lot.  One other thing I might try next time is to add a bit of asparagus either roasted, sauteed, or grilled…. I haven’t decided yet but just a way to add in some veggies!

 

Smoked Salmon Fettuccine Alfredo with Capers

Serves : 2-3                       Time to make : 20 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 3 T. butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/8 tsp. white pepper
  • 1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 8oz. fettuccine
  • 1 cup smoked salmon, chopped
  • 1 T. capers, roughly chopped
  • 3/8 tsp. fresh thyme, minced
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 T. fresh squeezed lemon juice

Directions :

  1. Melt butter in a medium sized skillet over medium-low heat.
  2. Add garlic, cream, white pepper, and thyme and bring to a simmer stirring often.
  3. Add the parmesan and simmer about 8-10 minutes stirring often, until mixture thickens and becomes smooth.
  4. Once thick add mozzarella and stir until smooth.
  5. Meanwhile, cook fettuccine according to package directions, and heat the salmon, lemon zest, lemon juice, and capers in a small skillet just for a minute or so until heated through.
  6. Drain pasta, add the salmon mixture to the sauce and spoon over pasta.

Published in: on February 17, 2011 at 8:12 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/day-47-smoked-salmon-fettuccine-alfredo-with-capers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Now that is an exquisite dish if I ever saw one… delicioso!
    Eliz


Leave a Reply

