Day 51 : Southwest Burgers with Guacamole Aioli

First things first… 51 days!  Wow, I am so grateful to those who follow along with me and read my blog and I hope you have enjoyed everything thus far.  I can’t believe we are already 51 days in!  I forgot to mention that the other day my blog was featured on The Daily Post as one of the top ten themed blogs that rock!  I was beyond shocked to see my blog featured and so honored!  Links to both The Daily Post and FoodPress can be found in the sidebar.

These are my own creation as well, and one that we really enjoy.  While we were dieting we went on a boca burger kick because they were so much healthier, but really we enjoy them regardless.  If you have not had boca burgers before I suggest you try them!  These particular burgers were the result of needing to use up various things I had left over from other recipes and they turned out so great that I had to make a recipe out of it.  Everything together is perfect, but we also like to use the leftover aioli as a dipping sauce for fries.  It’s not quite a traditional aioli in the way it’s made, but it’s a very simple method and it’s super versatile.

You should make the aioli in advance so it has plenty of time to chill and allow the flavors to marry.  The burgers cook up very fast so these are a great weeknight meal.  I normally serve fries with them, but you can do whatever you like.  When we were point tracking (Ww) we used sandwich thins for the buns, but tonight I used up some leftover hamburger buns and toasted them which I felt was even better.  The chipotle was another addition today which I think really kicked it up a notch something I will do every time now.

 

Southwest Burgers with Guacamole Aioli

Serves : 2                       Time to make : 15 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 4 original boca burgers (1 box)
  • 2 wedges laughing cow chipotle cheese (or the jalapeno weight watchers version)
  • 2 slices reduced fat American cheese
  • red onion slices
  • 2 large lettuce leaves
  • roasted red peppers (about 1/4 cup)
  • 2 burger buns
  • 3 T. light mayo
  • 2 T. plain greek yogurt
  • 2 T. guacamole dip (I use Mission brand)
  • 1 T. roasted red peppers, minced
  • 1/4 tsp. chipotle chili pepper
  • dash of salt
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced

Directions :

  1. Combine the mayo, yogurt, guacamole, chipotle chili pepper, salt and garlic in a small bowl and chill for at least 2 hours.
  2. Heat a skillet over medium-high heat spray with olive oil cooking spray.
  3. Heat your broiler at the same time to quickly toast your buns.
  4. Place all four burger patties in the skillet and flip after about 4 minutes or so.  They cook pretty quickly since you are really just heating them up, so after a minute or two, add the American cheese to two of the burgers and continue cooking until cheese is melted.
  5. Build your burger in the following order… Toasted bun, laughing cow cheese, lettuce, burger topped with cheese, second burger (without cheese), generous dollop of the guacamole aioli, onion slices, roasted red peppers, top bun.  Do the same for the second burger.
  6. I suggest using any leftover aioli as a dip for fries or you could use it as a spread on sandwiches the next day.

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/day-51-southwest-burgers-with-guacamole-aioli/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

