Day 52 : Grapefruit Margaritas

Today is a great day for two reasons…. the first being that it’s my baby’s first birthday!  Happy Birthday Archer!  And as if that weren’t enough of a reason to celebrate, it’s also National  Margarita day, or so I am told at least.  I didn’t verify, but you never really need an excuse to enjoy a good margarita!

I am not a big drinker, despite the handful of drinks I have already shared on here lol.  I really only like a few different drinks and margaritas are one of them!  I like them traditional, I like them on the rocks, and I even like virgin margaritas.  I don’t much care for Strawberry Margaritas, but then again I don’t care for strawberry flavored drinks at all.  Today was the perfect day to venture out and try something new though and I remembered I had a few grapefruit that were going to go bad soon if I didn’t use them.  I have been meaning to try this for quite some time and I am so glad I did!  I love the extra sweetness the grapefruit juice brings to the party!  The recipe called for a salted rim…. which I LOVE about a margarita, but I thought I would go with a sugared one for this just to push the sweet factor.  I also used Lime Tequila because I think it is so much better than regular and I was putting lime into this already anyway.  This is my idea of a well balanced margarita, with the flavor not being overpowered by the sheer strength of the alcohol which I truly appreciate.  It also has a beautiful pastel pink fluffy appearance that would look so nice served to your girlfriends for a girls night IN!

WARNING!     These go down very smooth!

Grapefruit Margaritas

Serves : 2                 Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • Crushed Ice (about 2-3 cups)
  • 1 cup fresh squeezed grapefruit juice (about 2 grapefruits)
  • 1/2 cup tequila (I used lime Jose Cuervo)
  • 1/4 cup grand marnier (I used triple sec since I had it on hand)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 lime, juiced (cut other half for garnish)
  • one wedge of lime to wet the rims
  • sugar for rimming

Directions :

  1. Juice your grapefruits into a measuring cup and add the juice of your lime, tequila, and grand marnier.
  2. Pour juice mixture and sugar over ice in a blender and blend until nice and smooth.
  3. Using a small wedge of lime run it around the rim of each glass and then carefully dip it into some sugar on a plate.
  4. Pour margaritas into each glass taking care not to ruin your sugared rim, and garnish with a wedge of lime.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/day-52-grapefruit-margaritas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

