Day 55 : Ruby Sunshine

Wow, 55 days!  Once again I am so grateful to those who are reading and following my blog.  I have so much stuff in mind to do yet, and hopefully I will get to try many more new things as well.  I hope you are enjoying the recipes I have blogged so far.

I know it’s ANOTHER drink, but if you saw the day I had you would know why lol.  Let’s just say we are not out of the woods yet with whatever sickness has taken over our house by any means…. This is my own recipe, and one that I had forgotten about.  I am really trying to boost the vitamin C so orange juice is IN these days lol.  I am determined to NOT catch this bug!

This is a very refreshing and flavorful drink.  It’s the kind of drink you can whip up in no time and really impress your friends with, or score some points with your kids for.  I named it ruby sunshine because it is a gorgeous ruby color, and sunshine in reference to the Sunny D.  You can either remove the seeds, which is my preference, or leave them… it’s totally up to you.  I LOVE raspberries, but just can’t stand all the seeds!  It takes a few extra minutes but the resulting smoothness without the seeds is really great.  I also suggest frozen raspberries, but fresh with work as well.  I’d say this is the perfect summer drink, but can be enjoyed all year round with the convenience of the frozen berries.

I hope to soon be back to some actual food recipes again soon, but I hope you will bear with me for now.  Don’t give up on me! lol

 

Ruby Sunshine

Serves : 2          Time to make :  5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 cup Sunny D
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries (I do a generous heaping half cup)
  • 1/2 cup strawberry flavored sparkling water (or strawberry kiwi)
  • ice
  • raspberries, mint leaves, or orange slices for garnish

Directions :

  1. In a blender combine the Sunny D and the raspberries until smooth.
  2. If you prefer it without the seeds push that mixture through a sieve before continuing.
  3. Stir in the sparkling water.
  4. Pour over ice in two glasses, and garnish if you prefer.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/day-55-ruby-sunshine/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

