Day 57 : Mozzarella Sticks

Still down, but managed to make it through long enough to fry up some Mozzarella Sticks today.  There isn’t much to say about them…. I LOVE cheese, so it only stands to reason that I love it fried as well.  Something about the warm melty center and the crunchy exterior just says perfection to me!  I have never tried to make my own before, but decided now was the time.  The italian breadcrumbs worked perfectly for this, and I used some pepper jack string cheese because I was hoping to recreate some Hozzarella sticks I get at a local place that are SOOOO good.

I actually made some fried ravioli along with them tonight, which was also a first, but they weren’t as picture worthy since most of the breading came off (not a good idea I think to use panko for them since it slipped right off).  However they were very good in theory and in taste so I will share the recipe for them as well.

Since I made the two together I didn’t really measure out amounts of anything, but I will try to give estimates.  Really you just need to use enough egg to coat all your items, and enough breading to do the same.

Mozzarella Sticks

Serves : 2            Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 5 string cheese (I used the pepper jack ones)
  • 1-2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup or so italian bread crumbs
  • canola oil, enough to fill a skillet about an inch to an inch and a half
  • marinara for dipping

Directions :

  1. Heat oil in a skillet to about 375 degrees.
  2. Cut each cheese in half, then dredge them in the egg.
  3. After coated in the egg, roll into the crumbs, coat it again in the egg, and then back in the crumbs one last time.
  4. Carefully drop into the hot oil and cook until golden brown.  It is rather quick.
  5. Remove to a paper towel until completely done.
  6. Serve with marinara for dipping.

 

Fried Ravioli

Serves : 2            Time to make : 15 minutes

Ingredients :

  • Pkg store bought ravioli (I got a 9oz pkg of chicken and cheese)
  • 1-2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 – 1 cup italain bread crumbs
  • canola oil, for frying
  • marinara for dipping

Directions :

  1. Cook ravioli according to package directions, then drain and lay out on a sheet in single layer.
  2. While ravioli is cooking heat oil in a deep skillet or wok to 375 degrees.
  3. Coat cooked ravioli in the egg mixture, and then into the crumbs. (I tried panko and it did not stay on so I suggest sticking to the finer crumbs)
  4. Carefully drop into the hot oil and cook on both sides until golden and crisp.
  5. Serve with marinara for dipping. (you can also shred a little fresh parmesan over the hot raviolis if you prefer)

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/day-57-mozzarella-sticks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

