Day 59 : Adult Iced Hazelnut Mocha

So a full week now of sickness in our house, and still lingering.  Seems today it was my youngest again that suffered the most….poor little guy.  When he’s upset it makes EVERYONE’S day hard though.  I figured it was a good night for a little treat before bedtime.  Typically, an iced hazelnut mocha is my go-to beverage when I want a little pick me up or dessert drink.  I figured why not take it a step further and have an even bigger treat that might help me relax a bit or sleep deeper tonight.  I had the three liquors up in the pantry cabinet, so I decided to wing it!

I think it turned out pretty good!  Although the name implies that it is a mocha, it doesn’t have a very strong coffee flavor to it.  Kahlua, though made with coffee, doesn’t have a whole lot in it.  I might have added more to this drink, but Jeff has a major aversion to coffee so I figured that since I was mixing it all together it was easier to leave it be.  Next time though I might take that extra step and add a bit more kahlua to my own, or even some fresh brewed coffee.  As always measurements are more like guidelines and you can always adjust them to your tastes if you prefer one liquor over the other.

I have to admit that when Jeff brought home the Chocolate Tequila Rose I was not a big fan.  However, mixed into drinks it is actually not so bad and I can see all sorts of uses for it in the future from drinks to desserts!

Adult Iced Hazelnut Mocha

Serves : 2             Time to make  : 3 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 2oz Chocolate Tequila Rose
  • 2oz Frangelico
  • 2oz Kahlua
  • 3oz half and half cream
  • 4oz milk
  • ice
  • whip cream
  • chocolate syrup for garnish

Directions :

  1. Mix alcohols, cream, and milk together in a small pitcher and stir to combine.
  2. To garnish glass, hold it in one hand at an angle and slowly pour the chocolate syrup onto the inside of the glass spinning it as you go.
  3. Put ice in each glass, and pour drink over ice.
  4. Top with whip cream and a drizzle of chocolate syrup.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/day-59-adult-iced-hazelnut-mocha/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

