Day 62 : 8 Ball

TGIF!  It has been a long week, enough said.  Time to sit back, catch up on stuff, and relax!  No dinner recipe tonight because I spent the last few hours rearranging furniture so I could steam clean my carpets!  I earned this drink for sure.

I knew I was going to make a cocktail tonight, but I had no idea which.  I sort of searched recipes for drinks containing lime and pineapple since I wanted something refreshing and tropical.  I stumbled upon this one and figured I’d give it a try.  I used light rum, triple sec (instead of grand marnier), lime tequila (all I have and I prefer it anyway), pineapple juice from a can of pineapple, lime juice (the squeeze kind because I was too lazy to cut one up and juice it), and of course regular sugar though I have no idea how much a dash of sugar syrup is.  Jeff wasn’t a big fan, I think you have to really enjoy lime to like this one, but I though it was refreshing.  I do think I could have used a tad more sugar syrup though since the squeeze lime juice is somewhat bitter.  Add a bit of mint and this could really be good!

Best of all though…. I got to use our cocktail shaker!  LOL.  It’s just one of those things we bought for something long ago that never gets used.  It’s sort of fun shaking up your drink in an official shaker!

*Edited to add that I put a little bit of 7-up in my glass after I wrote this and thought that really helped sweeten it up while at the same time giving it a nice effervescence.

8 Ball

Serves : 1         Time to make : 3 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/4 cup light rum
  • 1/8 cup grand marnier
  • 1/4 cup tequila
  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • dash of sugar syrup
  • ice

Directions :

  1. Fill a cocktail shaker halfway with ice, add ingredients and shake well.
  2. Strain into glass over a few ice cubes.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/04/day-62-8-ball/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

