Day 65 : Stuffed Burgers with Pepper Jack Cheese

65 days down and 300 to go!  While it’s crazy I have now completed 65 days, and sometimes it seems like I have been doing this for such a long time already, the fact that there are 300 days left really puts things in perspective lol.  So far so good though.

Who doesn’t love a good burger…. especially a STUFFED burger!?  It’s too bad that a good portion of my stuffing ran out the sides lol.  I guess I didn’t quite get them them sealed off well enough, so take care to pinch those sides really well.  It’s all good though because I added a bit more pepper jack on top of each burger, so I guess it could be called a DOUBLE pepper jack stuffed burger now.  I think the guacamole and bacon were the perfect toppers for this burger and I wouldn’t change a thing in that regards.  I did however add a few dashes of worcestershire sauce and some basic seasonings to the burgers before forming them.

I started off cooking these in the skillet, but it quickly became obvious that the outsides were getting done way too fast and the middle was bloody.  I am VERY particular about my meat and will not eat a burger that is pink, let alone bloody!  So partway through I switched over to the foreman grill which is where I lost a lot of my filling, but at least they cooked through.  Maybe it just requires a bit of practice, I don’t know.  The cheese that DID stay inside was very good though!  For the guacamole I felt one HUGE avocado was enough and  I eyeballed the other ingredients to taste.

Stuffed Burgers with Pepper Jack Cheese

Serves : 4                       Time to make : 20 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 2 large avocados, Haas, peeled and pitted
  • 1 T. fresh lime juice
  • kosher salt to taste
  • 1 1/2 T. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 1/2 lb. ground beef
  • 2 oz. pepper jack cheese, grated
  • 4 hamburger buns
  • 8 bacon slices, cooked until crispy

Directions :

  1. Prepare a medium-hot fire in a grill.  Place a cast-iron griddle on the grill to preheat.
  2. In a bowl, combine the avocados and lime juice and mash them together with a fork.  Season with salt and stir in the cilantro.  Set the guacamole aside.
  3. Divide the ground beef into eight 3-oz. portions and shape each into a burger patty.
  4. Place a quarter of the cheese onto each of four patties and then top with the four remaining patties.  Pinch sides together and seal off burgers.
  5. Place burgers on the griddle and cook, turning once, about 4 minutes per side.  Place the burgers on the buns, top each with 1/4 cup guacamole and 3 bacon slices.  Serve immediately.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/07/day-65-stuffed-burgers-with-pepper-jack-cheese/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

