Day 66 : Pineapple Buganda

I feel like I am back in Tahiti!  In fact I wish I were, because I bet this drink would be so good made with their amazing fresh ingredients.  The Pineapple Buganda though, actually originates from Uganda, which is in Africa.  Pineapples are a major crop there, and this drink is traditionally made with rum, but I left it out so my entire family could enjoy this…..which they DID!  Archer devoured it and Perrin even tried and liked it!

It is such a refreshing drink, not too sweet and so smooth and creamy.  The recipe gives you the option to use cream or coconut milk, but I strongly suggest using the coconut milk because the flavors go so well together.  If you want to make it family friendly like I did tonight just exchange the rum for either milk or some fat free half and half.  The original recipe also calls for 4 T. of brown sugar which I felt seemed like a bit much and I am glad I cut that in half.  I am sure it tastes good with the additional sugar, but IMO it wasn’t necessary and is a bit more figure friendly without.

This drink goes together in a matter of minutes, and is the perfect thing to serve for large crowds!  You could even do one blender with rum, and one without, maybe adding a bit of green food coloring or something to the one without so you don’t get them mixed up and serve the wrong one to the kids lol.  For me this is a drink I could enjoy every day!  And it looks so pretty in the glass with the garnish of mint and cherry.  I was even able to find to my convenience, the perfect small can of coconut milk and a container of pre-cut fresh pineapple in the proper amounts!  It really doesn’t get any easier than that!

 

Pineapple Buganda

Serves : 2-4                Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 2 C. fresh pineapple, very ripe and cut into small pieces
  • 4 T. brown sugar (I used half as much)
  • 1/2 cup cream or 1/2 cup coconut milk (I recommend the coconut milk)
  • 6 oz. white rum (or as much milk or cream)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 C. crushed ice
  • mint sprig for garnish
  • maraschino cherry for garnish

Directions :

  1. Blend everything but your garnishes in a blender on high until nice and smooth.
  2. Serve in a nice glass with your mint and cherry garnishes.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/08/day-66-pineapple-buganda/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

