Day 69 : Fern Gully

Not to be confused with the quaint rainforest that is home to the fairies, this is and adults only drink that packs a lot of flavor!  It’s another Friday night and my husband and I decided to unwind with a cocktail.  This one comes from a rather LARGE bartending cookbook my mother gave us a long time ago.  I was just sifting through the pages and the name stood out to me right away because of the movie…. and the ingredients though different seemed rather intriguing.  I wasn’t sure what to expect but both Jeff and I gave this a 4 star review.  It has a somewhat complex flavor.  You first notice the lime and coconut cream, but there is that hint of something else (the amaretto and orange juice) in there too that you just can’t quite put your finger on.  I can definitely see this served on the beach of just about any tropical location.

I used Sunny D for ours because that is my orange juice of choice, though I realize it’s probably not what they were referring to.  Either way it worked fine and you can use whatever orange juice you like.  I also used bottled lime juice this time so I wasn’t wasting a whole lime for a little bit.  I had never really tasted coconut cream before and it is quite good!  I am going to find all sorts of other drinks to try it on and maybe even baking lol.  Especially since I now have a lot left over from tonight.  I have never heard of Creme de Noyaux, but the amaretto seemed to work just fine, and for that I used my homemade amaretto.

 

Also from the book… here is a toast from the Philippines, meaning “long life” ……..    Mabuhay!

 

Fern Gully

Serves : 1        Time to make :  3 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 oz. light rum
  • 1 oz. dark rum
  • 1/2 oz. cream of coconut
  • 1 oz. orange juice
  • 2 tsp. lime juice
  • 1/2 oz. creme de noyaux (any almond-flavored liqueur may be substituted)
  • ice

Directions :

  1. Fill cocktail shaker with ice.
  2. Add light rum, dark rum, cream of coconut, orange juice, lime juice and creme de noyaux.
  3. Shake
  4. Strain into a goblet or large wineglass.
  5. Add ice

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/day-69-fern-gully/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

