Day 70 : Easy Almond Sticky Buns

In our house your birthday isn’t a one day affair…. we like to consider it more of a birthday WEEK!  That means that during the week leading up to your birthday you get to decide all sorts of things, from what to watch on TV, to what’s for dinner or breakfast, etc.  Since my birthday is on Monday, I entered into my “birthday weekend” today and decided I was going to have almond sticky buns for breakfast!  Technically I shouldn’t be eating things like sticky buns for breakfast since my weight is steadily on the rise lately and I need to get it back under control, but it seems almost a sin to me to start a diet only days before your birthday.  Rather, I would like to gorge myself for the next few days until my birthday and all the leftover desserts are gone and THEN start my diet lol.

These are probably some of the easiest sticky buns you will ever make and also some of the best!  I have made them many times before and will continue to do so because they are that good.  I love crescent rolls, I love almond, and I love sticky buns…. really it’s a no-brainer.  If you’re like us, you likely have a tube of crescent roll dough in the fridge most of the time anyway, and the other ingredients are definitely staples in my house, so I like that I can decide on a whim to make these, like this morning.  Today I just made 6, but normally I would make the full recipe of 12 and we’d still finish them all in record time.

Sometimes when making them I have had slight issues with them wanting to stick in the muffin pan, but today I had NO troubles at all, and I think it’s because I went against the directions and sprayed the pan with a little cooking spray first.  They came out beautiful and though they did make  a pretty big mess of the top of the pan where it bubbled over they popped out with ease this time.  I am sure you could use any type of nuts you had on hand for this, or even things like raisins or cranberries or whatever you like.  It’s more like learning a great method when you find a recipe like this because it is so versatile.  However you choose to do so, I highly recommend you add these to your next weekend menu.  Your family will be very appreciative indeed!

 

Easy Almond Sticky Buns

Serves : 6-12              Time to make : 20 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons flour
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 (8 ounce) packages crescent dinner rolls
  • 1 tablespoon butter, melted
  • 1/8 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/4 cup almonds, chopped

glaze

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 -3 teaspoons milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon almond extract

Directions :

  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Combine brown sugar, flour, softened butter, milk, and 1/8 tsp almond extract, and blend well.
  3. Spoon this mixture into 12 ungreased muffin cups.
  4. Unroll crescent dough into 4 rectangles.
  5. Combine melted butter and 1/8 tsp almond extract.
  6. Brush onto dough and sprinkle with almonds.
  7. Starting at the short side, roll each rectangle up like a jelly roll.
  8. Cut each roll into 3 pieces and place them cut side down in muffin cups.
  9. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until golden brown.
  10. Immediately invert onto serving platter.
  11. Combine glaze ingredients while rolls are baking, and drizzle over warm sticky buns.
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/day-70-easy-almond-sticky-buns/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

