Day 72 : Watermelon Limeade

Happy Birthday to me!  I had a great birthday.  Jeff took the day off as a surprise, got my oldest up early and they headed out to get me a card, some make-up (Perrin’s idea), breakfast, and a coffee.  Then we took a day trip to do some clothes shopping for the kids, got a few things for the house including a new tv stand, went bowling, and had a nice dinner at McKenzie River Pizza Co.  We got home in the evening and got started putting together the tv stand… and are still putting it together lol.  I’d say we definitely worked up a thirst so I had the perfect recipe in mind for tonight.

This is such a refreshing drink, and the ice cold watermelon just really hits the spot.  I especially like the zing from the lime soda.  I took a bit of help from the store, and bought already cut up watermelon and just threw that in the freezer.  Instead of club soda I decided to use some lime sparkling water I had on hand since I was afraid the extra water I added to get it to turn in my blender properly might have weakened it a bit.  It was perfect I think.  Thankfully it makes a nice pitcher full because we have a ways to go still before everything is all set up!

 

Watermelon Limeade

Serves : 4-6             Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 4 cups frozen watermelon chunks
  • 3 T. sugar
  • 4 T. freshly squeezed lime juice
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 3/4 cup cold water ( I used almost twice as much to get mine to blend right)
  • 16 oz. club soda
  • mint sprigs for garnish

Directions :

  1. Combine watermelon, sugar, lime juice, salt, and water in blender and puree until smooth.
  2. Pour into a pitcher and top with the club soda, stirring to mix well.
  3. Pour into glasses and garnish with a mint sprig.

 

Published in: on March 14, 2011 at 8:42 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/day-72-watermelon-limeade/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

