Day 73 : Chicken Florentine Crepes with Hollandaise Sauce

Living in the small town that we do, it’s such a treat whenever we travel to make it over to IHop for some breakfast.  I always order either their spinach mushroom crepes or their chicken florentine crepes.  In a perfect world they would have one that offered the chicken, spinach, AND mushrooms…. and that’s what these are.  I used a copycat recipe for the chicken filling, then just added some sauteed mushrooms to that.  Then I used a crepe recipe I found elsewhere because in comparing others to the crepe portion of the first recipe I noticed they were quite different and I wanted to go with one that was rated highly for the crepe itself rather than the filling.  Then finally I topped it with the blender hollandaise I made a while ago since the original recipe didn’t include one.  I’d say they came pretty close to what I get at IHop and were well worth the effort!

I ended up with about 3 extra crepes than I needed so we just turned those into dessert crepes.  When making crepes you are going to want to make sure you have a good skillet to work with.  I really love my Rachel Ray skillet and would never have even attempted to make crepes in my older skillets since things ALWAYS ended up sticking in them.  It’s best to let your crepe batter sit out for a bit before cooking them, so go ahead and make that before you do any other prep work.  Then, since I didn’t want my filling to burn I turned it off before making the crepes and covered it with a lid.  I should have heated it back up before filling the crepes though since by the time I plated and took pics it was a bit cold.  Luckily the hollandaise takes only a couple minutes and can be made right at the end.

 

Chicken Florentine Crepes with Hollandaise Sauce

Serves : 2-4                         Time to make : 30 minutes

Ingredients :

Crepes

  • 1 C. flour
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vegetable oil
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

Filling

  • 1/2 lb chicken, cut into small cubes
  • 1/2 can of cream of chicken soup
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 oz. cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 2 oz. swiss cheese, shredded
  • 5 oz. spinach (fresh)
  • 4 oz. mushrooms (I used crimini)
  • 2 T. butter
  • 1/2 C. milk
  • salt and pepper to taste

Hollandaise

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • dash cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 C. butter, melted

Directions :

  1. Combine crepe ingredients in a bowl and whisk until all the lumps are out, then set aside.
  2. Saute mushrooms in butter until tender.
  3. Add chicken and garlic and cook until the chicken is done through.
  4. Add the milk and cream of chicken soup and stir to combine, turn heat to low.
  5. Add in your spinach stirring to let it wilt down.  Once it has wilted add the cheese and heat til it is melted.
  6. Turn burner either VERY low and keep an eye on it, or turn it off and reheat before stuffing crepes.
  7. Heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat and spray with cooking spray.
  8. With skillet off heat pour about 3-4 T. of your crepe batter into the skillet tilting so you completely cover the bottom. It should be fairly thin, so adjust your amount until you get the desired amount.  I was just eyeballing it.
  9. Heat about 1 minute and do not flip.  Once crepe has firmed up and bottom is ever so slightly browned turn out onto a paper towel on a plate. Repeat until you have all your crepes made, placing a paper towel in between each so they don’t stick if you want.
  10. Divide mixture between 4 of the crepes and use the remaining three for desserts if you want, or put less in each crepe.
  11. Combine egg, lemon juice, and cayenne in blender until mixed.  Slowly pour in the melted butter while blender is running on high and blend until thickened.  Pour over crepes.

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/day-73-chicken-florentine-crepes-with-hollandaise-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh My Goodness! I have been wanting to make this dish ever since I had it at IHOP. And I have to say, this recipe is better! Absolutely delightful!!!

  2. I watched the movie Julie and Julia… It’s so inspiring to find the real person’s “experiments”! I woke up thinking about this recipe, and I can’t wait to get it ready. I think my granddaughter will love it! Thank you for sharing your recipe!

  3. Wow I’ve been searching for the perfect copycat recipe all this time and this is amazing thank you so much!


Leave a Reply

