Day 74 : Asian Noodle Bowl

I often see variations of noodle bowls on tv that look like something I would enjoy, but once I see the recipe I pretty quickly realize that a lot of the ingredients are not available in my small area.  I came across this particular recipe on Key Ingredients and was thrilled to learn that it called for such basic ingredients.  The only thing I wasn’t sure I’d be able to find was the chili garlic sauce, which I did find at Walmart.  I even had the almond butter on hand because my oldest son is allergic to peanut butter so we started buying that for him a while back.  So I had all the ingredients and was set to make this, but I was still a bit skeptic only because I know Jeff doesn’t like a meal with no meat in it lol.  He actually gave this 5 stars though!  I also really enjoyed it and would definitely make it again.

I just made the entire box of noodles since I hate leaving such a small amount in the box to put back in the cupboard.  I think I will do the same again next time, but add even more of the broccoli and snow peas in since I had extra this time.  I just didn’t want it to be too much so I stuck to the proper measurements.  I found my snow peas and broccoli already prepped in bags in the produce section which made prep work that much easier.  The entire dish only takes as long as it takes to cook some noodles since the sauce goes together SO quickly.  It’s the perfect weeknight meal and something a little different to help shake things up mid-week.

Asian Noodle Bowl

Serves : 4-6           Time to make : 15 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 3/4 lb. whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1/2 head broccoli, tops cut into florets, stems sliced thinly
  • 2 cups snow peas, trimmed
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 3 T. fresh squeezed lime juice
  • 2 T. brown sugar
  • 1 T. chili-garlic sauce, like sriracha
  • 1-2 scallions, green parts only, sliced thin

Directions :

  1. Toast almonds in a dry skillet over medium heat until brown.  About 3 minutes, stirring often.
  2. Prepare spaghetti according to package directions in a large pot.  When there is about 3 minutes left of cook time add the broccoli.  In the last minute add the snow peas and red pepper.
  3. While pasta is cooking combine the almond butter, soy sauce, lime juice, chili-garlic sauce, and brown sugar in a large bowl with 3 T. of the hot pasta water.  Whisk until smooth.
  4. Drain the pasta and veggies and throw into the bowl with the sauce, tossing carefully to coat with the sauce.
  5. Serve with the sliced scallions and toasted almonds on top.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/day-74-asian-noodle-bowl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Sounds and looks really yummy! I’m definitely going to try this one!


Leave a Reply

