Day 75 : Chocolate-Espresso Cupcakes

I am a bit late with these since it’s now three days past, but it had been my intention to make these for my birthday on Monday.  Since we were out of the house I just didn’t have the time.  I am the only person who will eat these in our house because Jeff absolutely hates coffee…. that’s partially why I chose them lol.  Anyway, I save a lot of dessert recipes that call for coffee because they sound SO good to me, but rarely get the chance to make them.  I figured cupcakes would be the perfect thing for the occasion.  I kept a few and will just send the rest with Jeff to work so I don’t have to feel TOO guilty lol.

I do think these were good, but I can see room for improvement too.  I thought the frosting was really good, but the cake part was just a bit bland and dry.  I like a really moist and chocolaty cake and I am sure there are other cake recipes I could use and just add a bit of espresso to in order to achieve the perfect mix with the frosting from this recipe.  The measurements were spot on for both the cake mix and the frosting, both of which I halved for today.  I got 12 cupcakes exactly and had just enough frosting to generously frost all 12.  I can’t stand it when a recipe has a lot of extra because I never know what to do with it, and can’t just throw it away lol.  I took the liberty of adding a few chocolate sprinkles on top just for aesthetic reasons, but they are optional of course.  I used plain instant coffee for this, but I might even try something like hazelnut mocha powder next time to see how that turns out.

 

Chocolate-Espresso Cupcakes

Serves : 24            Time to make : 40 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 (4 oz.) bittersweet baking bar, chopped
  • 2 tsp. instant espresso powder
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup sour cream

Frosting

  • 5 T. heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tsp. instant epsresso powder
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 5 cups confectioners sugar

Directions :

  1. In a double boiler combine butter, cocoa powder, baking bar, and espresso powder.  Heat over a low boil until melted and smooth.  Remove from heat and allow to cool for 20 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 and line your muffin pans.
  3. With an electric mixer cream the eggs and sugar together until fluffy.
  4. In a seperate bowl combine flour, salt, baking powder, & baking soda.  Slowly add to the butter and egg mixture and blend to combine.
  5. Next blend in the cooled chocolate until smooth.
  6. Stir in  the sour cream with a spoon.
  7. Fill muffin cups and bake 12-14 minutes.  Allow to cool for 10 minutes before frosting.
  8. To make frosting, combine all ingredients in a large bowl and beat with an electric mixer until creamy like a thick frosting.  Either pipe or spread onto your cooled cupcakes.

 

Published in: on March 17, 2011 at 8:11 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/day-75-chocolate-espresso-cupcakes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

