Day 76 : Lasagna Rollups

First off, I want to take back what I said yesterday about the cupcakes being too bland or dry.  Just like muffins these actually become more moist the next day once they have sat in an airtight container.  I also now feel that the subtle flavor of the cake portion is perfectly balanced out by the rich and very flavorful frosting.  I am now a little sorry I sent so many to work with my husband, but I am sure my waistline thanks me lol.

When I was growing up we didn’t have lasagna very often, because let’s face it, making lasagna is time consuming! I remember grating cheese until I felt like my arms would fall off as a kid.  Now of course its a bit easier if you just buy pre-shredded cheese, but it still takes a while to cook your noodles, make the meat, and assemble…. then you have to wait forever for it to bake!  Anyway, in our house if we want lasagna we often go with a boxed version and are always left feeling a little disappointed by them.  They are fine, but they aren’t what we want.  When my youngest was born a good friend (Susan we mean you if you are reading this!) made us a great homemade lasagna that my husband still proclaims to be the best he has ever had!  Hard to compare to that lol.   Anyway, I have tried a couple different lasagna recipes since my husband and I have been together and they actually are both rolls.  It’s such an elegant way to serve a great dish.  It’s also already made up into the perfect sized portions!

Tonight’s recipe was pretty good.  I took the liberty of changing it up a bit which leads me to assume that the base recipe would be a bit bland by itself for us.  But that’s fine, because it’s nice to have a good base to start with and alter to your tastes.  I added about a lb of ground beef cooked up with some onion and garlic, and seasoned with some oregano, fresh basil, salt and pepper.  I also used at least double the parsley called for in the recipe because I LOVE it.  I like the idea of taking some help from the store and using jar sauce for things like this, and chose a Prego Fresh Mushroom variety.  I actually had a bit left over of the same kind from something else and heated that up at the end to serve with some additional sauce and because it makes a nice presentation to have a bed of sauce to put the rolls onto.  The next time I make these, and there WILL BE a next time, I might add a few more seasonings to the filling mixture, but other than that it was very good.  Best of all there was no fennel in it… which I can’t stand in lasagnas rofl.

I was able to fit 15 rolls into my 9×13 baking dish and I only needed to heat it for about 25 minutes before it was ready.  Not only was it starting to spit out onto my oven, but we were way too impatient to wait any longer than that.  I will just share the original recipe so you can alter it to your own tastes, but if you need any inspiration the alterations listed above worked very well.

 

Lasagna Rollups

Serves : 5-6          Time to make : 1 hour roughly

Ingredients :

  • 1 jar of spaghetti sauce, divided
  • 1 (2-pound) tub of ricotta cheese
  • 2 cups mozzarella cheese, divided
  • 1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 T. freshly chopped parsley
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 12-14 lasagna noodles, prepared according to package directions

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 375.  Pour half of the sauce into the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine ricotta, mozzarella, parmesan, eggs, parsley, and salt, mixing well.
  3. Spoon cheese mixture over noodles distributing evenly, and roll up tightly.  Place rollup seam side down in prepared baking dish; top with remaining sauce and mozzarella.
  4. Bake 35-40 minutes, or until heated through.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/day-76-lasagna-rollups/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Those look tasty and like it’d be easier to stick to a smaller portion. I love my lasagna but it’s so giant and decadent it’s a company only dish.

    • Yes it works very well when it comes to portions. You can also freeze them and pull out a portion here and there very easily to heat up. Lasagna doesn’t have to be a company only dish anymore!


Leave a Reply

