Day 77 : Almond Joy Shake

Ugh, it’s days like today that I wish I lived almost anywhere else!  I had a photography session scheduled today that I had to cancel because of the weather.  All week I was watching it, and figured we’d be in the clear since it was forecasted as cold but just cloudy….. then today I woke up and it was snowing like crazy and was very wet looking outside.  I am just so ready for spring already!  Anyway, it threw me off the for the rest of the day and we pretty much just chilled around the house.  Since it was a resting day we had take-out for dinner and I decided to make shakes to go along with that.

I didn’t use a recipe for these, but just threw them together.  I knew I wanted to use the coconut cream I had in the fridge from the other day, and figured why not make it like an almond joy since I also had some leftover toasted almonds from the other night.  I figured it would be good, and knew it would have the key ingredients of a real almond joy, but I was actually quite pleased at how similar it was to the actual candy bar when all was said and done.  I think I got the perfect balance.  My family really enjoyed it too, though Jeff almost wouldn’t taste it because he for some reason thought I put coffee in it.

 

Almond Joy Shake

Serves : 1                 Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 3 scoops fat free vanilla ice cream
  • 2 T. chocolate syrup
  • 1 T. coconut cream
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • whip cream
  • toasted almonds

Directions :

  1. Blend ice cream, syrup, coconut cream, and milk in a blender on high until smooth.
  2. Pour into a tall glass, and top with whip cream and sprinkle toasted almonds over the whip cream.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/19/day-77-almond-joy-shake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

