Day 79 : Carrot Pineapple Muffins

While shopping recently I found so many adorable muffin pan/cupcake liners.  I was able to refrain from buying them all, as well as a bunch of picks, and sprinkles, but I didn’t walk away totally empty handed either.  I have quite the collection building of liners and sprinkles, and gadgets now.  Of course I can’t use most of them right now since I am trying to make smarter choices for a while and the idea of cupcakes just doesn’t fit in well with that after the last batch wasn’t even made a week ago.  However…. I figure muffins allow me to at least use the liners and are considerably more healthy.  To make them even more so I took the liberty to alter the recipe a bit using less sugar, replacing half the oil with applesauce, and substituted some whole wheat flour in for half of the all purpose flour.   They turned out quite well, and the best thing is that even my picky son liked them!  If you knew my son you would know how big that was!

The idea with the carrots and pineapple reminded me so much of carrot cake, and they do taste like it, only without all the butter and less sugar lol.  You could almost slap some cream cheese icing on these and consider them dessert, but they make a great breakfast or snack as is.  Using the substitutions mentioned above resulted in a nice fluffy muffin, with a good balance of moisture and flavor.  You do taste the wheat flour, and my husband refers to it as a sort of grittyness, but I promise you it’s not in a bad way.  If you have ever tried the Ww 1 point pancakes it is a lot like that, and we definitely enjoy those!  The original recipe called for a cup of sugar but that seems to me like it defeats the purpose of a healthier snack, so I used about half and did part white sugar and part brown.  The applesauce is the perfect alternative to the oil, and I might even try to sub all of it next time.  I also might add some walnuts to them next time, I just didn’t want to take TOO much liberty with these the first time around.  They puffed up beautifully, but not really high, so you do need to fill the liners all the way.  For me the 20 minute suggested baking time was just right.

 

Carrot Pineapple Muffins

Serves : 12                   Time to make : 35 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 cup sugar (you can get away with half)
  • 2/3 cup vegetable oil (I subbed half with applesauce)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup grated carrot
  • 1 cup crushed pineapple, drained

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line muffin pan.
  2. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat sugar and oil together until well combined.
  3. Add eggs and mix until well combined.
  4. Stir in vanilla.
  5. In a separate bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.
  6. Add to the sugar mixture and stir until just combined, taking care not to over mix.
  7. Stir in carrots and pineapple until just combined.
  8. Spoon into liners filling all the way.
  9. Bake 20 minutes.  Let cool for 10 minutes before moving to a wire rack to cool the rest of the way.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/21/day-79-carrot-pineapple-muffins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Those muffins sound absolutely delicious. I love that you get fruits and vegetables in this for a truly healthy combo. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your muffins up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-10.html


Leave a Reply

