Day 80 : Caesar Club Sandwich

One of my favorite salads is Caesar Salad.  I love the garlicy, salty, lemony, creamy dressing.  So when I came across this sandwich I knew I had to try it.  I had only made my own caesar dressing a handful of times, but never with parsley or mayonnaise!  I was a bit skeptic to be perfectly honest, but I think it really did have a caesar flavor when all was said and done.  And best of all it was super simple to make.  That spread along with the other elements resulted in an amazingly delicious sandwich!  It not only tasted great, but it had so much color to it and looked beautiful on the plate!

I did have trouble finding arugula in my area, so went with a Spring Mix salad that had tango lettuce, baby romaine, & radicchio.  When I did a quick web search for an appropriate substitute it came up with either spinach or watercress.  I would have no better luck finding watercress in my area, and the store was out of spinach that day so I just went with something I would be happy to serve as a caesar salad instead.  I think it worked well for this and it added even more color and texture to the mix.  I also went with shredded parmesan just because I already had some on hand.  To save a bit of time I did use a rotisserie chicken from the store for this.  I think they are really good, and worth getting for any recipe that you need pre-cooked chicken for.  A couple other things I tweaked a bit perhaps were using about double the garlic (because I love garlic), and I have no idea how much sun dried tomato I used since mine were already cut up in the jar of oil.  I just eyeballed it and layered them so they would cover it with some tomato in each bite.  The same with the lettuces and parmesan… I just put enough to cover and eyeballed on amounts.

I did take a couple of liberties in technique tonight as well, but I don’t feel like they changed the overall outcome of the recipe.  One was in using the rotisserie chicken of course, and that was more of skipping a step.  The others were that I cooked the pancetta up in a skillet like bacon, getting it nice and crisp and then laid them out on paper towel to absorb the grease.  I also brushed a bit of olive oil onto the sliced ciabatta bread before sticking it under the broiler for a couple of minutes rather than placing it into the oven.  Time to make below will be for the original recipe as stated with roasting your own chicken, but take note that if you use the store bought chicken it goes much faster.  You can also do like I did, and make the caesar spread earlier in the day, then put it in the fridge.  It not only saves time later, but it allows the flavors to really marry together.

 

Caesar Club Sandwich

Serves : 2-3             Time to make : 50 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 2 chicken breasts, bone in with skin on
  • olive oil
  • kosher salt
  • fresh ground pepper
  • 4 oz. thinly sliced pancetta
  • 1 large clove garlic, chopped
  • 2 T. chopped fresh flat leaf parsley
  • 1 1/2 tsp. anchovy paste
  • 1 tsp. dijon
  • 1 1/2 T. freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup good mayonnaise
  • 1 large ciabatta loaf
  • 2 oz. baby arugula, washed and spun dry
  • 12 sun-dried tomatoes in oil
  • 2 – 3 oz. parmesan, shaved

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place the chicken breasts on a sheet pan skin side up. Rub the chicken with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for 35 to 40 minutes, until cooked through. Cool slightly, discard the skin and bones, and slice the meat thickly. Set aside.
  3. Meanwhile, place the pancetta on another sheet pan in a single layer. Roast for 10 to 15 minutes, until crisp. Set aside to drain on paper towels.
  4. Place the garlic and parsley in the bowl of a food processor fitted with a steel blade and process until minced. Add the anchovy paste, mustard, lemon juice, and mayonnaise and process again to make a smooth dressing. (Refrigerate the Caesar dressing if not using it immediately.)
  5. Slice the ciabatta in half horizontally and separate the top from the bottom. Toast the bread in the oven, cut side up, for 5 to 7 minutes; cool slightly. Spread the cut sides of each piece with the Caesar dressing. Place half the arugula on the bottom piece of bread and then layer in order: the sun-dried tomatoes, shaved Parmesan, crispy pancetta, and sliced chicken. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and finish with another layer of arugula. Place the top slice of ciabatta on top and cut in thirds crosswise. Serve at room temperature.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/day-80-caesar-club-sandwich/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

