Day 81 : Tiramisu Frappe

Somehow I managed to mess up my back yesterday.  Since the moment I got out of bed this morning I have been pretty much unable to move without pain, and after a day of having to chase after my kids anyway because they don’t care about my excuses, I was not up for standing around the kitchen all night to make dinner.  We had pizza instead, but in the spirit of not missing a day of my blog I decided to make a frappe.  It has been a while since I have tried one of the recipes that came with the frappe machine, and since I am in pain I decided to go all out and do the adult version.

Normally I make my frappes with ice cream or frozen yogurt, instead of ice to get a creamy texture, but the heavy cream does just as well.  Of course it’s far from figure friendly, and when using frozen yogurt I can go with fat free…. but after a day like today I don’t really care lol.  I have to say, this was SOOOOOO good, and really did taste like tiramisu!

Just for some fun, I made a very quick chocolate decoration to put on top, but since I was in a bit of a hurry and not moving all that well I didn’t get it all off the paper in one piece.  There should have been more steam lines coming from the middle.  As you can see I also slightly melted the edge of the handle…. but you get the idea lol.  My son told me it was amazing anyway!

Tiramisu Frappe

Serves : 1        Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 cup strong brewed coffee or espresso
  • 2 cups ice
  • 2 T. chocolate syrup
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup rum

Directions :

  1. Put ice in blender and pour in other ingredients over top.
  2. Blend on high until well combined and frothy.
  3. Top with whip cream if you desire and a sprinkling of cinnamon.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/day-81-tiramisu-frappe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

